Perfection

Every single thing I put into my mouth today was incredible. My meals and snacks were all so delicious and satisfying and I enjoyed every single bite. I just love days like that!

Snack

I’ve been seeing these Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars on all the blogs lately but wasn’t able to find them anywhere! Well, while I was walking back from my interview this afternoon I walked into GNC on a whim and there they were! I’m hoping this means that today is my lucky day, and all my interviewers really liked me : )

Ok, words can honestly not describe how absolutely amazing this bar is. Seriously it tastes exactly like raw peanut butter cookie dough. I kid you not, pb cookie dough is my favorite thing on earth. I think that whenever I try to make a batch of pb cookies I only get about 3 cookies that actually make it into the oven—the rest finds its way into my mouth too quickly. 

I can’t get over how amazing this was. I will definitely keep this in mind as a dessert for the future—I think I prefer it to actual pb cookies, and it is such a healthier alternative!

Dinner

I was in need of some good old-fashion comfort food for dinner, and honestly what is more comforting than meat loaf? I really can’t think of anything. I made mini meat loaves from cooking light and they were amazing. It was beyond easy to make, hardly any clean-up, quick cooking, and incredibly delicious. By forming individual loaves before baking it only took 25 minutes in the oven-much shorter than the traditional recipes. These had a ton of flavor and stayed really moist which I was pleasantly surprised about. I used 95% lean ground beef which tends to dry out, but this didn’t happen with these. It was by far the best meat loaf I’ve ever had! On the side were green beans and pickles (random, I know, but I had an insane craving for them! The color in the picture is sort of freaking me out though, it’s like they’re glowing!)

Dessert

I tried one of my dad’s favorite concoctions for dessert tonight: Cinnamon-Raisin Ezekial with butter spray and maple syrup. I can’t believe I didn’t think to try this before. The maple syrup is the PERFECT complement to the cinnamon raisins. This is so sweet and with some fruit, it was the perfect dessert.

I’m ending the night with some chocolate as I blog. I had 2 squares (1/3 of the bar) of Milk chocolate with sea salt and almonds. I usually stick to dark chocolate but this was really good! It was incredibly creamy and I really enjoyed the addition of sea salt. It gave it that little something extra. Yumm.

I’m glad I got such good eats in today because tomorrow it’s back for another long day of exercising, work, and studying. Unfortunately that means meals will be boring and predictable, but at least I have my delicious Maple-glazed salmon leftovers to look forward to! I’m on a serious maple kick lately!

Well, I’m exhausted after my stressful few days so I’m going to be lame and go to bed before 11 on a Friday night. Then it’s up at 6:45 tomorrow to get another busy day started! I hope you all have enjoyable and relaxing weekends planned so that I can live vicariously through you!

6 Responses to “Perfection”


  1. 1 fitnessista Friday, August 22, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    i totally think that the larabar was destiny and that it means the interviewers loved you 😀 so true about the raw cookie dough- that thing is INCREDIBLE!!!
    i love mini meatloaves… what a comforting and delicious dinner!
    have a relaxing evening!! you deserve it after all of the craziness! night!

  2. 2 eatingbender Friday, August 22, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Aw, this day really was perfection – and you know that means the interview had to have been perfect as well. I’m willing to bet on it 🙂 And I don’t usually gamble, so that’s sayin’ something!

    Yum, that mini meat loaf recipe looks so good! And maple syrup on top of that muffin?! Your dad is a genius! I would have never thought of that – but I know I would love it!

    And sea salt & almond chocolate, huh? I’ve never heard of it – but it sounds lovely. And I hope you have a lovely evening and weekend, mi amiga!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Saturday, August 23, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Hooray for a great interview!! That’s wonderful!! I’m sure you nailed it 🙂

    **PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE LARABAR = VEGGIEGIRL’S #1 FAVORITE FLAVOR!!!!**

    Enjoy your weekend!

  4. 4 jenngirl Saturday, August 23, 2008 at 11:17 am

    mmm mmm, looks like a really delicious day! i’m one of those weirdos who is actually a meatloaf fan, haha…i’m on a search for PB Cookie Larabar! have a good weekend! 🙂

  5. 5 Melissa Saturday, August 23, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    man, i need to find one of those larabars! and your food looks sooooooooooo good! and i love what you put on that english muffin…

    have a wonderful weekend!

  6. 6 Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 8:49 am

    I’m glad your day was filled with such delicious food! I love days like that when everything you eat is just so satisfying ~ it just puts you in a good mood and makes you extra happy!

    I’ve heard good things about those Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars, but this is the first time anyone has described it as tasting like raw PB cookie dough! That sounds even more amazing than the descriptions I already read!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

