Traditional

Snack

No surprises here.

Dinner

When I think of a basic, traditional meal, this is what I think of:

Dinner was simple, filling, and delicious. It was very well rounded and healthy and relatively easy to make. I don’t know why, but it just really reminds me of a “traditional” meal like you would see on a nice family show like Leave it to Beaver or something. Haha, maybe I’m just crazy.

Dinner consisted of steamed broccoli, brown rice, and flank steak topped with a mushroom sauce made with garlic, onion, scallions, beef broth, white wine, and balsamic vinegar. It was a good, hearty meal.

To finish off the meal we opened a bottle of Italian Red Wine. 

I seriously LOVE wine. I think I’m going to start drinking it more often. I think it really ups the quality of the meal and helps me slow down and enjoy my food more. This cabernet was amazing. It was really smooth and very drinkable. 

Now it’s off to watch some Olympics. I see dessert somewhere in my future as well, I had a hard workout today–I deserve it : )

8 Responses to “Traditional”


  1. 1 jenngirl Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    haha that meal is very traditional…those are my favorite kinds, give me grilled chicken breast, brown rice, and steamed broccoli any day! about the wine, i’m right there with you. it does cause me to savor the taste of a meal and really enjoy it, reminds me of dining in France 🙂

  2. 2 Danielle Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Sounds like a very traditional home-cooked meal, yum! Thanks for answering my question so thoroughly before, you’re always such a big help and I really appreciate it!

    P.S. I second the L-O-V-E for wine 🙂 I adore drinking with a meal, it just about ups the pleasure factor by a million!

  3. 4 Fitnessista Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    i also have a huge love for wine.. especially red!!! it makes dinner so much more enjoyable 🙂
    your dinner looks wonderful- enjoy your evening!

  4. 5 Maureen Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Like your blog. I seriously LOVE wine as well. I drink a glass to a glass and a half every night, and it definately slows me down and makes me savor the meal. I also think I go back for seconds less when I have wine. Probably because i’m savoring the wine. How often do you have wine with dinner?

  5. 6 C Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I also love wine, I just don’t drink it very often. My dear husband doesn’t drink at all so it feels wasteful to crack open a bottle I can’t finish. Well, I probably could finish, it just wouldn’t be the smartest move 🙂

  6. 7 eatingbender Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I love wine, too! My dad is a HUGE wine-o…seriously, to the extreme! So it’s always nice to be home because I know I can count on having the good stuff, although he calls himself a “cheap wine connoisseur” because he always gets a deal!

    I love your idea of a “traditional” meal – all the flavor from each food, combined with the wine, sounds like a perfect evening!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

