Powered Up

Today is my last free day until, oh, Thanksgiving. I’m heading back up to Boston at the end of next week and until then I am working 9-hr shifts every day, taking my GREs, packing, finishing up applications, and trying to get in exercise/cooking. Yikes.

Breakfast

I am officially obsessed with Cottage Cheese Oatmeal. It really, really fills me up and gives me so much energy. Yay for protein! I had this huge bowl made with 1/2 c oats, 1 banana, and 1/2 c cottage cheese. Look at that sneaky banana poking through!

Breakfast gave me tons of energy and I had one of the best runs I’ve had in a while. Usually it takes me about 1/2 mile or so to find my rhythm but today I found my stride right away and felt great during the entire run. I did 4 miles in 36 minutes and when I was done I felt like I could keep going forever. I love when I finish a run and don’t feel like I’m going to die. That’s always a good thing.

I also did an upper body strength workout from Oxygen magazine. Overall I’m really happy with my fitness level, especially aerobically, and I’ve progressed so much over the past year. The only thing I would change would be my muscles–especially my arms. I’m pretty scrawny and really would love to gain some muscle and look stronger and fitter. Lifting has always really intimidated me though, so I’ve never really done it, but I’m ready to give it a shot. I did get a little discouraged when the first thing was 3 sets of 8-10 pushups and I pretty much collapsed after 5, but hey, you have to start somewhere, right? 

Lunch

After my intense workout I needed some FOOD. I quickly made an omelet with eggbeaters and laughing cow and topped it with some peach mango salsa (yum!). On the side I toasted up an ezekial english muffin and finished with a sweet apple. Gotta love fruit!

Off to shower and run some errands! See you tonight!

9 Responses to “Powered Up”


  1. 1 fitnessista Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    ok you’ve convinced me to try the cottage cheese oatmeal.. tomorrow, i’m gonna go for it

    great workout today– that’s awesome!! those oxygen workouts are amazing!

    hope you enjoy your last day before things get a little crazy busy! have a great afternoon

  2. 2 eatingbender Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    I’m going for the oatmeal with fitnessista. I can’t ignore it any longer!

    I’m pretty sure your lunch is going to be my dinner tonight! I will be sure to credit you – and I’ve got something ELSE to credit you for tonight. Your just full of good ideas, Sarah! 😉

    Oy, hope you’re enjoying your last free day! I wish you the best of luck with the weeks ahead – tests/applications? Gulp!

  3. 3 april Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    when you make those oats do you cook it in milk/water first and then add the cottage cheese?

  4. 4 Cookie Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Don’t get discouraged about doing pushups. I used to only be able to do “girly knee pushups” but I kept at it and now I can do a full 3 sets of 8 regulars. Oh and I’m no where near buff or anything! You can tell from the pictures in my blog! 🙂

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Yikes, best of luck with all of the busyness – hang in there!! And I hope you’re enjoying your last free day!! 🙂

  6. 6 Danielle Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    You’ve got a ton ahead of you girlie, good luck and try to take one day at a time! Plus by the time you get time off again you’ll be able to thoroughly enjoy yourself, I don’t know about you but Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, yum ;).

    And more about the cottage cheese oatmeal. I too am extremely tempted to try it however: (1) I have never ate cottage cheese. Ever. (2) I’m not sure if they sell it in Chile. If #2 works out though I’m probably taking the plunge. How would you describe the taste alone? and when added to the oatmeal? Also, how much earlier to you eat your breakfast before going out for a run? I’m trying to figure out this whole exercising and eating schedule thing 🙂 Thanks!

  7. 7 Sarah Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    April,
    Today I made the oatmeal with 1 c water and 1/2 banana stirred in. when the oats were done cooking I added 1/2 c cottage cheese and the rest of the sliced banana.

    Danielle,
    Hmm, I’m not really sure how to describe cottage cheese–it’s definitely NOT cheesy in the traditional sense. It is really creamy and I think it takes on the flavors of what it’s paired with so that it is really easy to make savory OR sweet. It definitely adds a nice twist to the oatmeal. My only warning is that it cools down the oats a ton if you just mix it in at the end which I didn’t like. Next time I’m going to stir it in while the oats are still on the stove so that it stays nice and hot. I do have to say that the added protein really kept me going MUCH longer than my usual oatmeal does so that’s a plus. Also it added so much volume that this was really big and super filling.

    It really depends on what I eat for how long I have to wait before exercising. If I just have something small like a mini clif I’m good to go almost immediately. If I have pb and toast I usually can run within an hour, cereal I need 1.5 hrs, and with oatmeal I really need to wait 2-3 hours before I can head out for a run. It just sits too heavily in my stomach and makes me sort of nauseous and gives me side cramps if I go any sooner. It’s really all trial and error though and everyone is totally different so you just have to play around and find out what works for you!

  8. 8 mangochild Wednesday, August 20, 2008 at 5:14 am

    Hope it was a “good busy” day – it sounds like a whirlwind! And congrats on the improvement in your workouts – the “I can go forever” feeling is like none other. I can’t eat anything for at least 2 hours before running… That oatmeal is great though – I’ve made it with non-dairy cottage “cheese” and it gives a great punch to the standard oats.

  9. 9 scharfebiggi Saturday, July 6, 2013 at 11:14 pm

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this publish and
    if I may I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you can write next articles relating to this article.
    I wish to learn more issues about it!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

