Turning into a Piece of Fruit

You know the saying “you are what you eat”, well if that’s the case I am definitely going to turn into a piece of fruit very soon. Seriously I’m addicted to fruit, any kind is fine with me! I just can’t seem to get enough of it. I guess health-wise it’s a pretty good addiction to have!

Breakfast

I had the usual cereal this morning but with a little twist. Our bananas weren’t quite ripe and we were all out of berries (don’t worry–I went to the grocery store this afternoon to restock!) but I really wanted some fruit with breakfast. We had some perfectly ripe nectarines and instead of eating my cereal and having the nectarine on the side, I decided to chop it up and add it to the bowl. I have cereal with fruit and yogurt all the time but for some reason this just seemed like such a new and intriguing idea to me. It was good, but not great. I mean really you can’t go wrong with adding fruit to anything but overall I definitely preferred the mushiness of bananas or the squishiness of berries to the nectarine. 

Lunch

I went to another spinning class today and was seriously dying. Spinning is by far the most intense workout I have ever done. I seriously sweat buckets and my heart rate gets up really, really high. I love it–the dim lights, loud music, enthusiasm of the instructor, and the constant changing of resistance and positions just makes it so much fun! I really hope I can find a spin studio when I get back to school because this is definitely something I want to keep up with.

It was such a hard workout today and I really pushed myself (a little too hard I think—I need to invest in a HRM!) that it totally squashed my appetite. I was feeling a little nauseous afterward but knew that I needed something to refuel after my intense exercise. I’ve been meaning to try the Vivanno smoothies from Starbucks for a while now and today seemed like the perfect day.

I had the Orange Mango with skim and really liked it. I was pleasantly surprised by how thick it was and despite numerous warnings I was still a little thrown off by how un-sweet it tasted. This was definitely NOT a frappuccino. I liked this because it was so thick that it took me a while to drink and by the time I was done I was feeling a lot better. This smoothie really kept me full for a long time too! I was planning on having something else when I got home but really wasn’t hungry in the least bit. I kept waiting for my hunger to strike but it never really did. I’m definitely impressed!

Snack

Even though I wasn’t hungry this afternoon I just got back from the grocery store and as I was unloading all my fresh fruit I couldn’t help have a bowl. No matter how full I am, there is ALWAYS room in my tummy for this:

I was so excited because for the past few weeks there have been no Rainier cherries. I thought my love-affair with them was over for the summer but then today I spotted them and did a little dance in the middle of the store. I got some strange looks, but I didn’t even care. If it weren’t for the problem of where to spit the seeds I would have broken the rules and eaten the whole bag while shopping.

Dinner

As much as I loved eating out and trying new, fabulous restaurants this weekend, it really felt great to be back in the kitchen. I made a great dinner of Lemony Seared Scallops with Orzo. It was so good.

Chopping the veggies was the hardest part of making this dinner–it was really simple. I just seared some scallops in a tiny bit of oil and added in sautéed onions, mushrooms, red pepper, and sugar snap peas. To that I added some soy sauce, lemon juice and zest, and served it over some orzo. Delicious. The lemon flavor was really prominent and the scallops cooked up perfectly. Believe it or not, this was actually my first time making orzo. I loved it! What a great combination of pasta and rice. Mmmm mmm!

Dessert

I snacked on some popcorn while watching a movie and of course had some more fruit. 

And then some more. 

I am proud of myself though because I did act like a civilized human being and forced myself to put the fruit in a dish and sit down before I ate it. This is a huge step over how I usually eat straight from the fridge. 

Hmm, and with the exception of a few blackberries all my fruit has been orangy/red today. Let’s hope I don’t wake up that color! That actually might be an improvement though over the ghostly white that I still am—sun, where are you!?!

8 Responses to “Turning into a Piece of Fruit”


  1. 1 Erin Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Oh friend! I’ve worked too hard in spinning class too! It’s just so energizing and before you know it, your face is hot, your stomach is lurching and you’re ready to pass out! I guess it takes practice, huh.
    Nice fruits! Yum!

  2. 2 mangochild Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 5:12 am

    The fruits are amazing in the summer, I also go crazy with them. Maybe feast impulse for the winter when its hard to get? I learned that ones skin can actually tinge orange with lots of orange fruit/veg (mango, carrot, sweet potato, etc) – never believed it, but its happened to me now! Whatever the reason, yum! on all your goodies 🙂
    You know, having the fruit and cereal together have been something I’ve somehow only recently put together too – even though like you I always have them side-by-side… keep us posted on your new combos!

  3. 3 glidingcalm Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 6:48 am

    my fruit addiction is way worse! favorites: pineapple, GRAPES, straweberries, magoes, watermelon, blueberries

  4. 4 C Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I find the vivannos to be very filling, as well. They are great when you are on the go and need something fast.

  5. 5 eatingbender Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I think it’d be fun to turn into a piece of fruit! What would you choose – a blueberry, banana or Rainier cherry? Tough call, if you ask me.

    I’m glad to hear you liked the orange-mango Vivanno. I think they are still free from 2-4pm on Tuesdays (at least I hope so), so I might try that flavor to day to switch things up, because I can be spontaneous like that.

    I’ve never tried orzo before – looks yummy though! How does it compare to rice, noodles, etc.?

  6. 6 Danielle Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Mmmmm, fruit. Which one are you? I would personally want to be a cherry 🙂

  7. 7 Sarah Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I think I would want to be a Rainier cherry if I had to choose. They are just so pretty! And sweet too, just like me hehe ; )

    Jenn,
    I really liked the orzo. It technically is a pasta but it reminds me a lot of rice because of the shape. It’s sort of hard to describe—it is definitely chewy like pasta but since it’s so tiny it really reminded me of rice. Wow, worst description ever. You really should just go out and give it a try for yourself, it’s good!


  1. 1 5 New Things… « eating bender Trackback on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

