Sarah Does DC-Day 2

Saturday was even busier than Friday! We were go-go-go from about 7am until 12:30 that night! It was worth it though because the weather was perfect and we had a blast sightseeing, museum-ing, and of course: eating!

Pre-workout Snack

I got up bright and early and had 1/2 of this Kashi bar before I hit the hotel gym. It was really nice, plenty of brand new equipment, each with individual tvs! This was the first time in months I’ve run on a treadmill and it actually was sort of a nice change from outside. I liked being able to play with the speed and incline. It’s funny looking back to when I first started running and would struggle to keep it at 5.5 and now I’m rocking 7.0 with an incline!

Breakfast

Even though we were up early and ready to start our day, it seems like the rest of DC was not…We had a pretty hard time finding a breakfast restaurant that was appealing to us. We played it safe and just got Au Bon Pain. I had some oatmeal with raisins and cinnamon (and a few chocolate chips!!) and split some ripe cantaloupe with my mom. I have to say I was seriously disappointed with this oatmeal, it just doesn’t come anywhere close to completing with my beloved oats that I make myself!

Lunch

In between museums we stopped and grabbed a quick lunch downtown. It was nothing special: a very mediocre tuna salad and some watermelon. I needed fuel to get me through the day and this did the job.

Dinner

We had another fabulous dinner on Saturday. We ate at Zaytinya, a mediterranean “mezze” restaurant. This is basically just the Mediterranean version of tapas. I loved it because we were able to order lots of little things so we could try tons of great food instead of just committing to 1 dish. This is a great restaurant to go to with a group of friends because everyone can pick a few things that sound really good to them and then everyone shares.

The restaurant itself was really cool and refreshing. The decor was simple and very mediterranean–lots of blues and whites. It really reminded me of some of the beach restaurants I ate at in Haifa last summer.

To start they brought out warm pita bread with olive oil and balsamic for dipping. The bread was so light and fluffy and puffy! And warm out of the oven, it was amazing.

My mom and I split:

Hummus

Grilled baby octopus, marinated onions, capers and yellow split pea puree:

Roasted Cauliflower with sultans, caper leaves and pine nut puree:

Mushrooms sautéed with dates and toasted almonds:

Turkish braised lamb shank with an eggplant-kefalograviera puree:

Everything was even better than it looks/sounds. My favorites were the mushrooms followed closely by the octopus, but really everything was to die for.

Dessert

We were out late seeing the play Shear Madness, which was HILARIOUS and when we finally got back to the hotel around 11:30 we were in desperate need of some dessert. We headed to a little place around the corner and “split” fresh berries and 5 layer chocolate cake. Now when I say “split” I really mean my mom had 2 bites and I devoured the rest. This was by far the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten in my life. I am really picky about my chocolate cake—often it’s just too dry for me. This was so moist and fudgy and perfect. Words can’t even describe how good this was. 

2 Responses to “Sarah Does DC-Day 2”


  1. 1 Erin Monday, August 18, 2008 at 1:14 am

    Lunch with mom looks INCREDIBLE! Call me next time! 😉
    Way to stick to your fitness while out of town. Discipline!

  2. 2 eatingbender Monday, August 18, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Yum Sarah!!

    First of all, I had Au Bon Pain last week for the first time and was also slightly disappointed with what I got. Meh.

    Zaytinya sounds incredible. Any restaurant that has warm fresh bread to start would be good with me. And grilled baby octopus is delish!

    The chocolate cake definitely looks worth it! I agree with you that it’s tricky to find decent chocolate cake, so I’m glad that this one was good!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

