DC Tastes Fabulous-Day 1

Hello again blogging world! I’ve missed you : )

Wow. This weekend was incredible. We were only in DC for a short time but we sure made the most of it. We stayed extremely busy, saw lots of sights, ate tons of great food, and did an insane amount of walking. It was great. I have tons of pictures so I’ll try to keep this brief and let the photos do the talking!

Breakfast

Simple and filling to get me through the 4.5 hour drive: Yogurt, red pear, flax, fiber one. 

Lunch

For lunch on Friday we ate in Georgetown at Bangkok Joe’s. This was a great Thai restaurant full of American influences. The menu was so interesting with a whole page of dumplings. Everything looked so good! I definitely want to go back sometime and try the sweet potato and butternut squash potsticker, it sounded delicious!

The restaurant was very cool and contemporary and the drink menu was just as interesting as the food menu. There was a ginger martini that I was dying to try but we had a very full and busy day ahead of us and we all know by now how strongly alcohol affects me so I sadly stuck with water.

For lunch my mom and I split the Summer Rolls:

And Seafood Salad. This was so light, fresh, and filling. It was called the “Yum Seafood Salad” and I definitely think it stood up to its name : )

Snack

After tons and tons of walking, we definitely needed a pick-me-up! I got a recommendation to try out Tangy-Sweet Yogurt so of course we scouted it out. I was dumb though and never wrote down the exact address so we basically accosted some poor man on the street when we saw him with his yogurt and he pointed us in the right direction.

I got the original with mango, kiwi, blackberries, and an accidental blueberry that somehow found its way in! It was so good—tangy yet sweet. It was a nice, healthy change from my usual DQ Blizzards!

Dinner

We went to Zola for dinner and it was beyond amazing. The ambiance of the restaurant was just so cool! It was stylish and chic. Zola is located right next to the Spy Museum which is equally as cool!

Crispy bread:

Butter Lettuce Salad with roasted Marcona almonds, oranges, ancient gouda, sherry syrup:

Blood Orange Glazed Black Cod with crisped fennel pollen spaetzle, gold beet, orange and shaved fennel salad. This was absolutely incredible. I seriously would have licked the plate if I wasn’t in such a fancy restaurant!

And for dessert we split the Chocolate Bomb: Flourless Dark Chocolate Cake with White Chocolate Ice Cream and raspberry glaze. Heaven.

3 Responses to “DC Tastes Fabulous-Day 1”


  1. 1 fitnessista Sunday, August 17, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    i would drive to dc for one of those chocolate bombs…..
    all of the food looks wonderful! sounds like you’re having a great trip 😀

  2. 2 Patty M. Monday, August 18, 2008 at 10:23 am

    So glad you liked Tangy Sweet! 😉

  3. 3 eatingbender Monday, August 18, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Mmm I love summer rolls that use rice paper like that! They are so much better than the deep fried crust!

    Tangy-Sweet sounds amazing. We just got a plain yogurt place like that where I am, so I might have to give it a go!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

