Reunited

I feel SO much better this morning! Taking the day off from exercising and getting to bed early was exactly what I needed. I woke up feeling refreshed and HUNGRY. And what was I craving—-OATMEAL! 

Breakfast

I finally was in the mood for my favorite breakfast again this morning. It had been way too long and as soon as I took my first bite I remembered why I love it so much. It’s just so creamy and comforting and amazing—I’m so glad my oatmeal aversion is over!

I did try something a little new today. I had been seeing a lot of bloggers mixing cottage cheese in with their oatmeal which I have never tried before. Sometimes oatmeal doesn’t keep me full as long as I’d like and I think it’s because it doesn’t have as much protein as some of my other breakfasts. The addition of cottage cheese is a great solution. I also sliced 1/2 banana into the oatmeal as it cooked and left 1/2 sliced on top instead of cooking in the entire banana. I liked it this way because it added more textures and flavors to the bowl. 

This was seriously SO. GOOD. If you haven’t tried cottage cheese oats before, do it! It’s amazing. My only complaint was that it cooled the bowl down a little too much (I like my food HOT!) and as a result I ate way faster than normal. This was really a shame because breakfast was so good I didn’t want it to end!

Pre-workout Snack/Spinning is insane

Since today is my first day of VACATION from work (!!!) I decided to hit up the gym for a spinning class. Holy crap. It was HARD. This was a seriously hard workout but really fun too! I loved the music and how enthusiastic the instructor was. I also really liked the class because it was constantly changing–speed, resistance, sitting, standing, sprinting. It made the time really fly by because we were always doing something a little different. This just goes to show how important it is to always switch up your exercise so that your body is always guessing. The only thing I didn’t like what how uncomfortable the seat was! My butt is already sore! 

Before class I had a clif chocolate chip mini. Yum! This little guy did a great job too. It fueled me through a 45 minute class, some upper-body lifting, and abs. 

While I was at the gym I got my body fat % tested. I did this way back when I first joined the gym (4 years ago) and was really interested to see the results. Since then I have really overhauled my eating and exercise habits and have become a lot healthier overall. Today my test results came in at 18.1% body fat—down from 25% 4 years ago. I’m so happy with these results! I’ve worked really hard, especially over the past 1.5 years and it really paid off! My next goal is to really work to define my abs (which are basically non-existent!) and add a few pounds of muscle, especially in my arms. Mainly though, I just want to maintain the great progress I have made.

Lunch

By the time I got home I was really hungry for lunch. It was almost 2:30! I very quickly put together an omelet with smoked salmon, basil, and laughing cow. With a little ketchup of course. Eggs+laughing cow+ketchup=match made in heaven. On the side I had a ww english muffin and fresh fruit. Perfect.

I’m so excited for my DC trip tomorrow! We are leaving bright and early (6 am!) so it’s going to be an early night. The STEELERS are playing their second pre-season game and I want to watch the Olympics so I don’t actually know how early I’m going to get to bed! Maybe I’ll just make my mom drive the whole way so I can sleep in the car ; )

7 Responses to “Reunited”


  1. 1 eatingbender Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Aw, so glad you reunited with your beloved oatmeal 🙂 I haven’t tried cottage cheese oats yet, but I’m pretty sure I would love ’em so they will definitely be making an appearance soon!

    Congratulations on your body fat test – that is such great news! I’ve actually never gotten mine tested but always wondered. I think I’ll check to see if they offer that at school.

    I hope you have a wonderful time on your trip to DC!!

  2. 2 C Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I had been meaning to try the cottage cheese oatmeal thing and now I can’t eat dairy so I can’t! booo

  3. 3 Danielle Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Wow, you have really made some great progress with evaluating and improving your healthy lifestyle. 18.1% body fat? Way to go! Have fun in D.C. girlie!

    P.S. I’m trying the cottage cheese combo as soon as I can, thanks for the idea 🙂

  4. 4 Sarah's Mom Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Sorry Sarah — I am working really late tonight so you are the designated driver (and I am the designated sleeper)

  5. 5 fitnessista Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    wow 18.1% is considered “excellent” on our little “ideal body fat chart” 😀 congrats, that’s awesome!!!
    if you say it’s good, i’ll have to try the cottage cheese oats. i’m not the hugest fan of cottage cheese (it’s a texture issue, i think it tastes great) but maybe i won’t notice the texture as much when it’s in combination with the oats.
    i looooove spinning!!! was tonight your first night taking a class?? if so, watch out for any stairs tomorrow 🙂 the day after i took spinning for the first time, i had to hold the handrail with both hands to pull myself up the stairs to my apt!
    hope you have a wonderful night!

  6. 6 Erin Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Congratulations on your body comps!

  7. 7 VeggieGirl Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Can’t go wrong with oatmeal!!

    Congratulations on your progress!!

    Have fun in DC!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

