Rainy Day

Wow, there have been some serious thunderstorms out today! I could barely even watch the Olympics because the TV kept getting interrupted by “excuse this interruption for a severe weather watch” blah blah. The sky was so dark all day I had no idea what time it even was!

Dinner

For dinner I made a sort of turkey burrito. I used this recipe but with some alterations. I subbed extra-lean ground turkey and regular raisins. It was great–very flavorful. I really enjoyed all the different sweet/spicy combinations and the salsa helped keep the dish moist since ground turkey can be pretty bland and dry. I decided to serve these on whole wheat tortillas to make a burrito. I am beyond horrible at wrapping this sort of thing up though, and this was especially messy. I decided just to eat it with a fork and knife instead ; ) 

Dessert + Snack Attack

Things started out innocently enough with a Cookies n Cream bar. Yumm.

Once I finished this though I realized that I was still hungry. I guess spinning and weight lifting got my metabolism going at full speed! Even with my extremely filling dinner I was starving a few hours later. 

Imagine this times like 3 or 4 probably. 

Ughh, I really hate when I get in this snacky mood. I really made an effort not to mindlessly eat by portioning out some food and snapping a picture. Then my old habits came over me and I just started eating blueberries out of the carton. Then puffins. I should have just eaten something more substantial seeing as I was genuinely hungry. Oh well, hopefully I’ll do better next time. Peanut Butter Puffins are just so darn good!

I should probably go get ready for bed soon as I have to be up so early tomorrow. I’ll bring my camera and take pictures but I don’t think I’ll be blogging until I get home so expect a monster post Sunday night or Monday morning. 

Have a great weekend everyone!

8 Responses to “Rainy Day”


  1. 1 fitnessista Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    that burrito looks great!!! i’ve never thought about adding raisins- that sounds awesome! thanks so much for you comment on my blog– i’m so very glad you liked the workout! those circle obliques are killer 🙂
    at least you had some delicious and healthy snacks tonight! remember spinning burns an insane amount of calories!
    have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  2. 2 Leigh Thursday, August 14, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    i really wanted a burrito for dinner tonight but i was a puritan and had a salad instead. lame.

  3. 3 Melissa Friday, August 15, 2008 at 12:25 am

    raisins in the burrito..that’s def different, but you liked it so that’s great!

    have a wonderful weekend!

  4. 4 Erin Friday, August 15, 2008 at 12:53 am

    SNACKING HAPPENS! Good thing it wasn’t a toffee cookie or something. 🙂 Have a beautiful wknd and looking forward to your monster post!

  5. 5 C Friday, August 15, 2008 at 7:58 am

    I keep seeing those PB puffins in the store but I have never tried them. I think they probably make a fantastic dessert since cereal is one of my favorite ones to have.

  6. 6 sara Friday, August 15, 2008 at 9:46 am

    No worries…I found myself mindlessly snacking on a carton of blueberries yesterday too! And if there’s dried fruit or puffins in the house, never mind!
    I just found your blog and I really resonate with what you wrote on your “about me” page. I also struggle with unintentionally counting calories. Its a bad habit and I’m trying ot get away from it as well. Best of luck!

  7. 7 Jenn Friday, August 15, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Mm I never thought of adding raisins to a burrito – I like the idea of combining sweet with savory/spicy! And I definitely can’t put together a wrap to save my life – I ALWAYS end up either 1) making a huge mess or 2) eating it with a fork 🙂

    Not to worry about the extra snacking – you picked some deliciously healthy things to munch on! And I really need to find those Cookies ‘n Cream bars because the chocolate chunkiness is calling out to me all the way in Chicago!

    Have a GREAT weekend!

  8. 8 VeggieGirl Friday, August 15, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Mmm, berries!! 🙂

    Raisins in a burrito, eh? Intriguing!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

