Twice as Nice

Today is full of repeats! Sometimes I feel like I’m just doing the same things over and over: sleep, eat, exercise, work, read, blog, job/grad school applications. Today is no different. I got up ate breakfast and exercised like always.

Breakfast

I really wanted oatmeal this morning. Well, more like I really wanted to want oatmeal. I haven’t had it in so long and miss it, but for some reason when it comes time to eat, hot oatmeal just isn’t appealing to me AT ALL recently. Does this ever happen to anyone else? I love oatmeal and go stretches when I happily eat it every day but recently I just can’t get myself to eat it. Sigh. Hopefully this aversion passes soon because I seriously miss my oats!

Instead I decided on a Kashi Strawberry Flax waffle topped with some fage, maple syrup, blueberries, and a banana. It was delicious–definitely hit the spot. I really like the warm, crispy waffle combined with the cool, smooth yogurt. And the banana was perfectly ripe and very sweet!

Lunch

Lunch was at Panera again! I usually don’t eat out this much, but my friend wanted to meet there so I gladly agreed. Panera is magnificent. I could probably eat there every day and be very happy. Today I went back to my beloved Strawberry Poppyseed and Chicken Salad. Mmmm. So good. Fruit+salad+pecans=my life is complete. Look how pretty it is!

****WARNING: When I was at Panera I saw that this salad along with the Portabello and Mozzarella Panini (which I had yesterday and LOVED) are only going to be available for 3 more weeks!!! I hate how these are seasonal : ( So make sure you all go out and enjoy these items while you still can!

Non-Food Review

Since dinner is going to be boring (leftovers) I decided to treat you all to a non-food product review. 

I was at Bath and Body Works the other day picking up some 5 for $5 antibacterial gels when I came across this:

Eucalyptus Spearmint Conditioner. WOW. This stuff smells beyond good. Very minty and fresh and relaxing. The conditioner works well too–my hair is nice and shiny and smooth. This scent is part of their Aromatherapy “Stress Relief” line. Let me tell you, it works. As soon as I breathe in this awesomeness I immediately feel better. I must have spent 40 minutes in the shower this morning just breathing it in. And the smell really lasts, I keep turning my head and getting whiffs of my hair, and I love it! 

I highly, highly recommend this product. I plan on picking up some more lotions, candles, etc. in this scent because it is just that amazing. I usually don’t get this exciting about things that don’t have to do with food, or food presentation (mugs, bowls, placemats, etc) so this is seriously the real deal.

Ok, well I’m off to take a practice GRE test, ugh. Then it’s a quick (early!) dinner and off to work for the night. Have a great day!

7 Responses to “Twice as Nice”


  1. 1 Jenn Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    I definitely took a break from the oats last week, but this week I’m all about them again! It will pass 🙂

    I’m so jealous that you got to go to Panera two days in a row! I need to get that Strawberry Poppyseed Salad while it’s still available for the summer!

    It’s so chilly outside today – I walked outside and was freezing, and thought of you and how you said you’re always cold! Brrr!

    Good luck with the practice test!

  2. 2 Erin Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    OMG! If you ever need to vent about the GRE and grad school crap just let me know! It’s like a full time job.
    As for oatmeal, I’m going through the same thing! I usually don’t eat it during the summer because it’s too hot. Your breakfast today looks great!

  3. 3 Lizzy Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    hi!! i too am working on gradschool apps….no fun!! and i am going through a not wanting oatmeal phase…just lots and lots of cold cereal (seriously i cant get away from it!) and fruit cravings! hope ur having a great tuesday!

  4. 4 Danielle Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Well I really want a Kashi waffle for breakfast… you think you can send me a box? Haha, kidding obviously… but only a little ;). Glad you got to enjoy the Panera seasonal picks while you still can! And if they’re still selling that conditioner when I get back I am definitely picking up a couple, minty, fresh, and relaxing is right up my alley, thanks for the review girlie! Good luck with the practice test!!!

  5. 5 Melissa Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    that waffle plate looks delicious! and i’m jealous you get to go to panera…i’ve only been there once and it was long time ago…

    have a great night!

  6. 6 fitnessista Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    i love your pyramid of breakfast deliciousness 🙂
    applying for grad school is such a PAIN… i totally feel ya
    thank you for letting us know about the salad!!! we don’t have a panera here, but i’ll be sure to enjoy it one last time while we’re in orlando this weekend!
    that conditioner sounds awesome- i love minty hair products 😀
    have a great night!

  7. 7 Leigh Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    i’m totally over oatmeal for breakfast. oatmeal for bedtime snack is where it’s at.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

