Hungry Day

I don’t know what my deal is today but I have just been so hungry all day! It’s definitely been a bottomless pit sort of day. I’m also not feeling too well in general–that achy, yucky feeling you get right before a cold comes on. Hopefully I can get a good night’s sleep and fight this thing before it gets bad. I’m going to WASHINGTON DC this weekend for a little vacation and really don’t want to be sick for it. I’m so excited to go and if anyone has any food/activity recommendations send them my way!

Snack

I made a little trail mix this afternoon to snack on. It consisted of PB Puffins, dried fruit, real fruit, and ginger trail mix.

This ginger trail mix is just incredible. There are bits of dried fruit (papaya, raisins, cranberries), nuts (cashews and almonds), dark chocolate chips, crystallized ginger, and other amazing goodies. The ginger really gives it a zing and is SO good. I wish I didn’t buy this, I know my self-control is going to disappear pretty soon and I’m going to just devour the whole thing.

Dinner

I had to eat early today to get to work. I had leftovers from the other night (seafood casserole and green beans) which worked out nicely because it only took about 2 minutes to heat up and it was ready to go. Fast and delicious–exactly what I needed tonight.

Dessert x3

This is where my hunger just wouldn’t quit. I really felt my blood sugar getting low at work and for some reason I was feeling really weak and hungry. Luckily I threw the rest of the dried fruit bag in my purse before I left so I was able to snack on this to hold me over until I got home.

I found these little pouches at the grocery store and they’re actually pretty good. Each bag has only about 80 calories and is surprisingly flavorful. It’s really sweet even without added sugars. It’s not the most filling snack but the taste was good and the pieces are really small so if you try to eat them individually it takes a really long time, which is always a plus.

When I got home I needed dessert. Fast. I tried out a new chocolate bar which was SO GOOD. This is “Dark Spicy Aztec” which is dark chocolate with cayenne peppers, cinnamon, and some sort of seed. It was really, really good. I loved the combination of the sweet and spicy and the red pepper really gave it a nice twist. I highly recommend this!

I had about 1/3 of the bar (2 squares) along with a mini bag of popcorn and some fruit. Ok, I had a little more fruit, but it somehow made it into my mouth before the camera could get to it!

And somehow after all that I was still hungry! I debated having more chocolate but since it felt like actual hunger not just snackiness I wanted something that would fill my stomach more. A juicy, sweet nectarine did the trick! 

Whew, what a day. Now it’s time for women’s gymnastics! Hopefully I can stay awake for more than 10 minutes of it, but I’m pretty exhausted. Tomorrow is another long workday with no plans for Panera. No fun!

5 Responses to “Hungry Day”


  1. 1 Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Wednesday, August 13, 2008 at 2:37 am

    The dried fruit and the chocolate bar look amazing! Yum!!

  2. 2 fitnessista Wednesday, August 13, 2008 at 9:15 am

    OOOOH i’ve had that chocolate bar before- and it’s AMAZING 😀 i was insanely snacky all day yesterday, too– maybe the moon is in a weird position or something?

    hope you have a good humpday!!!

  3. 4 Jenn Wednesday, August 13, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    That ginger trail mix does sound incredible. And I never thought to combine it was fresh fruit – what a good idea! The combination of the juices plus the extra sweetness from the trail mix would be perfect.

    I’ve never tried spicy chocolate before, but I see it all the time at Hannah’s Bretzel when I get a mocha. I think they sell them in small squares, so I might have to get some to go with my mocha for a double chocolate treat someday. Maybe today? It is hump day, after all.

    Have a good one 🙂

  4. 5 Patty M. Wednesday, August 13, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    DC Rec – Tangy Sweet Yogurt in Georgetown – awesome (similar to Pinkberry, Red Mango, etc.)!
    Love your blog BTW 😉


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

