Summer?

Seriously, where did summer go? Not only did the past few months FLY by and I’m now realizing how much more I need to accomplish before I head back to Boston for school in a few weeks, but the weather today was just not ok. It was so cold this morning that I had to turn on the heat in my car on the way to yoga! Granted, I’m always, always freezing, but it actually was cold this morning! And there is rain in the forcast : (

Breakfast

To fuel me through yoga this morning I had a cinnamon raisin english muffin with 1T cinnamon raisin PB (yummm) and some cottage cheese. Using a little less peanut butter and adding the cottage cheese worked great! The extra protein really left me feeling energized all through practice and I didn’t get hungry for lunch until later as well. Definitely a winning combination.

Yoga was really hard this morning. Our instructor decided to treat us to an intense core workout–I bet my abs are really going to feel it tomorrow! One move we did was lying on our backs with our legs out straight and a block between our thighs. Then you put your hands behind your head and lift your head and shoulders off the mat. Next lift your legs off the ground while squeezing the block. It’s hard. Try it, I dare you ; )

We did some work on handstands today and it is so hard. I have so much respect for those gymnasts who are just so strong! I can’t even do a handstand with the wall to help me, and they can pop up into one no problem on a 4 inch balance beam! Very impressive.

Lunch

After yoga and some errands I headed over to my Grandparent’s house for the day. There is a Panera right around the corner so I stopped in and picked up lunch. Since it was freezing today, and I see another Panera trip in my near future (I might be having lunch with a friend there tomorrow haha) I tried something new. My grandpa always raves about the Portobello and Mozzarella Panini so I decided to test it out. I had a half sandwich with the classic cafe salad.Β 

Wow.

This panini was AMAZING. First of all, Panera bread is to die for. This warm bread combined with melty, gooey mozzarella cheese and thick portabellos marinated in balsamic=incredible. I’m so glad I tried this sandwich, it will definitely become a staple in my Panera choices.

I also ordered an apple as my side but was pretty full so I skipped it.Β 

I’m never too full for trail mix though, as it is my greatest weakness. I was good though and managed to limit myself to a small handful.

There were no chocolate chips or else this picture would be multiplied by 8. No doubt about it.

Snack

My lunch really kept me full all afternoon. Lately though, I’ve been realizing that I let myself go too long without eating and can start to feel pretty weak. Also my hunger goes from nothing to full-force in about 30 seconds. Then I realize I’m starving, eat way too fast, don’t realize I’m full, and keep snacking and eating more than I need. So today, when the first signs of hunger started I went for a snack of fresh fruit. Delish!

Dinner

Orange Roughy was on sale this week which made me so happy, it is one of my favorite fish but is usually around $14.99/lb at my grocery store. It was half off this week so we snatched some up.

I marinated the fish in some soy sauce, ginger, garlic, red pepper flakes, sesame seeds, and paprika. Then I stuck it under the broiler for 7 minutes, and it was good to go. Along with the fish I made some quinoa and roasted asparagus. Very good, and good for you! I just love good, nutritious, home cooked meals. I feel so good eating them knowing that I’m putting healthy stuff in my body.

Dessert

Love-of-my-life Cookies and Cream bar.

A little later I finished off some fruit that was on it’s last leg. I also tossed in some TJ mini vanilla meringues. These things taste just like the mini marshmallows in Lucky Charms cereal! I love these because they’re tiny but really sweet. And only 1 calorie each. This is good because a little handful doesn’t do as much damage as other handfuls of snacks that I tend to grab (namely trail mix and chocolate chips…) but you do have to be careful because these are a little addicting!

Now I’m off to watch some Olympics in bed. I have a busy day tomorrow, lots of appointments to arrange, errands to run, and working the closing shift. Looks like leftovers for dinner tomorrow. Sorry in advance!

5 Responses to “Summer?”


  1. 1 Jenn Monday, August 11, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Uh-oh, Sarah. You’ve introduced me to a new sandwich from Panera – have you any idea how DANGEROUS that is?! Once I start going there, I can’t stop! You are right when you say it is to die for πŸ™‚

    Good for you for having a snack to stave off that intense hunger. I found the same is true for me – if I don’t eat something right when work is over, I get into a Snacky McSnackerson mood.

    That orange roughy looks delicious. I can’t wait to go home and get some of my dad’s home-cooked meals. He loves to make fish, and I love to eat it!

    And thank you for finally finding the perfect way to describe what those meringues taste like! Lucky Charms marshmallows is the best description I have ever heard, seriously.

    Also, thanks for the comment on my blog – you’re so sweet and you must know (from our other conversations) how scary it was to post something like that. It’s really a relief to get positive feedback πŸ™‚

    Longest comment in history?

  2. 2 Erin Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 1:24 am

    That sounds so relaxing – watching the Olympics in bed after a day of yummy food!
    I admire you for selecting a trail mix that doesn’t contain dried fruit or chocolate. How did you manage? I’m a trail mix addict too. It’s seriously so freakin’ good. I’d rather eat it than a piece of cake or ice cream or any of that!
    I love all your fruits today, they look delicious!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Summer came and went so quickly – ahh!!

    Panera bread is definitely top-quality!!

    Fresh fruit and watching the Olympics = simple pleasures πŸ™‚

  4. 4 C Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 9:52 am

    I love panera, too!!

    I am allergic to orange roughy, it makes me blow up like a blow fish πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Julz Tuesday, August 12, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    OMG I looove the TJ’s mini-Meringues. HOWEVER. My most recent box gave me some NOT SO MINI’s! Granted they were DEF still smaller than the usual meringues at TJ’s/Whole Foods (Mini’s), but they were bigger than being TINY! I love Tiny foods SO much πŸ™‚ They totally make me all giddy inside hehe. Anyways, Their taste? ICKY! WAAAYYY TOO SWEET! I woke up the next morning (after eating probably close to a serving’s worth haha… VERY ADDICTING INDEEDY DO!) and my tongue was TOTALLY stinging! Now, mind you, I am allergic to things with high sugar/acid content: Pineapple, Mango, Anything too spicy/too tart/too sweet, etc. But these left me with a couple of sores and some serious tongue burn. WATCH OUT Loverdove!

    (PS) As a fellow Yoga Lover, I have a serious question for you: Did you HONESTLY rock out those poses that you posted about a few days ago!?!?!? They were C-C-C-CAARRAAAZYY!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

