Here We Go Steelers!

Today has been so much fun, and the festivities continue tonight with the Olympics and the first STEELERS pre-season game vs. the Philadelphia Eagles. I am obsessed with the Steelers and love football in general. It was so depressing last year being abroad during football season. I definitely missed it! There was one little bar in Sevilla where they showed US games, but they only showed 1 Steelers game the whole season! I sure missed my BLACK and GOLD!

Breakfast

For breakfast this morning I started out with some cereal, wheatberies, milk, flax, and berries. I’ve been adding more milk (1/2 c skim + 1/2 unsweetened vanilla almond milk) instead of just 1/2c skim. I just love the combination of all the different textures and flavors. Very satisfying. And it really keeps me going through a tough yoga class with all the protein, carbs, and healthy fats. 

Lunch

I had a really hard time deciding what to have for lunch today. For some reason nothing was calling my name. Usually I can’t resist a big salad but veggies just weren’t doing it for me. I just went with what sounded best and came up with a Cinnamon Raisin Ezekial, cottage cheese, and a nectarine. I think nectarines may be my newest obsession and are definitely in my top favorite fruits. I love the combination of sweet and tartness and how there is a crunch to the outside but nice and juicy on the inside. Amazing. This really filled me up for some reason, I was stuffed for hours.

This afternoon I saw Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2. It was SO good! I love Alexis Bledel and Gilmore Girls is my favorite show ever, so I was really excited to see this movie. I loved the first one and read the book a long time ago and really enjoyed it. I thought the movie was really well made and was very relatable. It was a really great movie and I highly recommend it even if you’ve never seen the first one or read the books. It was pretty emotional at points, I was on the verge of tears a few times, but that could just be because I’m a dork ; ) 

Snack

No surprises here.

Dinner

My dinner creation was outstanding. I got the inspiration from ED&BV’s Black Bean, Corn, and Avocado Lasagna, or something to that extent. I don’t have the book though so I couldn’t get the actual recipe so I just improvised and made my own. I’m really proud of what I came up with. I’m finally starting to feel confident with my cooking abilities. In the past I’ve always stuck to recipes almost perfectly because I was scared that if I deviated the results wouldn’t be good. Tonight I just went with it and it was perfect!

Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 2 c tomato sauce
  • can black beans
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • spices: allspice, cumin, oregano, salt, cayenne
  • frozen corn
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 6 flat out wraps cut in half
  • 1/2 c cheddar cheese
I mixed together the tomato sauce, garlic, spices, and beans. Spread 1/2 mixture in the bottom of the dish, cover with 1/2 the wraps. Then spread on thawed corn and drizzle on lime juice. Cover with the rest of the wraps. Top with remaining sauce mix and sprinkle with cheese.
Cover and cook 20 minutes in 400* oven. Then uncover and cook 7 minutes more.
Enjoy!
This was so so good! Everyone practically licked their plates clean!
Now I’m enjoying a gin and tonic and cheering on my STEELERS!!!
4 Responses to “Here We Go Steelers!”


  1. 1 lindzakins921 Friday, August 8, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    LOL meanwhile I am sitting here rooting for the Eagles 😉

  2. 2 Jenn Friday, August 8, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    I love football. I love Gilmore Girls. I loved the first Sisterhood movie. I loved the book. I have a feeling I will love the second Sisterhood movie. I love the look of that lasagna – such a creative spin on a popular dish.

    Do you see some sort of pattern here? That’s what happens at 10:45 when you’re listening to children sing in the Olympic opening ceremony – you can’t help but love everything.

    But really, I do love all those things you mentioned!

    And now I’ve officially decided this is a wacky comment.

  3. 3 C Saturday, August 9, 2008 at 7:05 am

    That dinner looks awesome! I have never tried making anything like that before. I should give it a go!

    http://whatiateyesterday.wordpress.com/

  4. 4 fitnessista Sunday, August 10, 2008 at 10:58 am

    that dinner looks DIVINE!!! hope your steelers won 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

