Fabulous Day

Today just kept getting better and better! I am definitely one happy girl right now!

Dinner

For dinner my mom and I went to a little hole-in-the wall seafood restaurant called The Baltimore House. This place is a total dive and is actually pretty sketchy, but it’s the only place around here where you can get Hard Shell Crabs!!!

I just LOVE these! There is something so satisfying about breaking them apart and then enjoying the yummy crabmeat. It makes it taste so much better having worked for your dinner! One of the main things food-wise that I’m trying to work on is slowing down when I’m eating. I always gobble up my food so fast that I don’t enjoy it as much as I could. This is great for solving that problem because it takes forever to break the crabs up and suck out the meat. Seriously, it took me almost an hour to eat 2 of these guys! Also, I just love smashing them with the little hammer—what a great way to take out my frustrations : )

Dessert

This is what really made my day. A few days ago I went to DQ for the Thin Mint Blizzard which is my favorite thing IN THE WORLD. And they told me that it was the Blizzard of the month (July) and there were no more. I cried. Seriously, I was depressed for days about it. Then, on the way home from dinner we passed a DQ still advertising it! OBVIOUSLY I had to stop and get one.

HEAVEN.

I fully enjoyed every single bite because I know that this may be the last time I can experience the amazingness that is this dessert. What a perfect ending to a great day!

6 Responses to “Fabulous Day”


  1. 1 fitnessista Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    haha i was just telling my husband tonight that we need to go get one of those blizzards very soon- i guess we better hurry!!!
    i love love love crab but hate having to crack it open. that’s funny that you like that part but i do agree, it’s nice to slow down and enjoy it.
    hope you have a great night!

  2. 2 Melissa Friday, August 8, 2008 at 12:08 am

    i saw a commercial about blizzards and some sort of charity thing they were doing…hrm…have you heard about it?

  3. 4 Erin Friday, August 8, 2008 at 7:26 am

    I’m so glad you got your blizzard! 🙂 I hope you paid $.30 more for extra thin mints!

  4. 5 Sarah Friday, August 8, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Erin: I didn’t know that was even an option! I might have to go back today for another one!

    Melissa: I think yesterday all the proceeds from blizzards went to charity. At least around here it was a one day thing, but if it happens again, you better believe I’m going. There’s nothing like ice cream for a good cause : )

  5. 6 Jenn Friday, August 8, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I love hard shell crab, too! My family and I always “break” (ha, get it?) it out for special occasions like birthdays and New Year’s Eve. I really like how it takes so long to eat, as you said. Sounds like a fun night out with your mom! And look at that Thin Mint blizzard – I still need to find a DQ and get my hands on one!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

