Yummy Day

Breakfast

I woke up this morning surprisingly not very sore from my intense hill run yesterday. My hips were a little tight, but nothing too extreme. This made me so happy because after I finished running yesterday I was predicting an extremely painful day today. I had some cinnamon raisin peanut butter on a cinnamon raisin ezekial english muffin for breakfast, and as always it was delicious.

Yoga was great this morning. We worked on some arm balances and I finally managed to stay up in side crane without toppling over. I felt so strong! Then we tried another arm balance and it was back to falling on my face. Oh well, maybe next time!

Breakfast for Lunch

Breakfast for lunch day was always my favorite in elementary school and I still like it today! I love breakfast food, and it is the most important meal of the day, so why not have it twice?!? 

I had a Strawberry Flax Kashi Waffle with a little maple syrup and a side of cottage cheese mixed with strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries. Mmmm. This hit the spot. Sweet and satisfying!

Snack

While reading this afternoon I popped some kettle corn to munch on. I’m really enjoying my book “Unaccustomed Earth” so far. Actually, I can’t put it down, and want to quickly finish this post so I can get back to reading it! I’ve heard some bad reviews that this book reuses too many of the same themes as the author’s other books and that as a result is predictable and a little repetitive. I haven’t read any of her other books though, so to me it’s great! 

Then, a few hours later I was starting to get a little hungry so I decided to get started on dinner. Everything is going great until I read: “Let marinate for 2 hours.” 2 HOURS!! No way could I wait that long! I made the marinade, stuck the chicken in the fridge, and grabbed an apple to tide me over. This just goes to show how important it is to read recipes in advance! 

Dinner

Dinner was absolutely delicious! I made Hoisin-Lime Chicken and served it with some Soba (Buckwheat) Noodles. Overall this was incredibly easy to make and after the marinating is done it comes together really quickly. It smelled so good while cooking that my mouth was watering and I couldn’t wait to dig in. The chicken was so flavorful, I loved it! I will definitely be using this marinade again–I bet it would be really good on shrimp!

Ok, back to my book : )

6 Responses to “Yummy Day”


  1. 1 fitnessista Wednesday, August 6, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    whoa that hoisin-lime chicken looks divine!!! yummmmm 😀 i also like having breakfast for lunch
    hope you’re enjoying your evening- i might have to get that book when i finish mine 🙂

  2. 2 Melissa Wednesday, August 6, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    ohhh…popcorn…i’ve been craving it for so long but i don’t have a microwave, so no popcorn!!!

    enjoy your book!

  3. 3 C Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 9:03 am

    That marinade looks awesome, I love asian type dishes and this looks perfect!

    http://whatiateyesterday.wordpress.com/

  4. 4 caitlinbo (see bride run) Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 10:08 am

    you must go to dozens! tonight! buy two cupcakes and eat one for me…i think they have a second location in mt washington or somewhere if thats closer to you!

  5. 5 Jenn Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    First of all, congrats on being able to hold that yoga pose – seriously impressive! I really don’t think I could do that if I tried. But I still WANT to try 🙂

    That hoisin-lime chicken looks so darn tasty! I’ve totally don’t that before where you don’t realize that you have to do some prep work that required an extra few hours! Most of the time I just give up – good job sticking with it! The result looks delicious!

    Ok, so I just have to say re: Harry Potter. I LOVE HARRY POTTER!! Bobby and I actually went to the midnight madness party at B&N for the 7th book and read each chapter together (because we are HUGE dorks) and discussed after each one. Although I went a little crazy after a while because no offense to him, but I read faster and could hardly contain myself when I would get to exciting parts before he did!

    Did you hear that the 7th movie is going to be split into two parts because they decided they couldn’t cover it all in one? They had to get approval from J.K. Rowling and everything — I don’t know what to think about that, although I’m glad we’ll be able to extend the “new” Harry Potter items a little longer. I will be so sad when there is nothing new to look forward to 😦

    Wow, I am WAY to obsessed!

  6. 6 Jenn Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    argh, so many spelling/grammar errors in that comment!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

