Feeling Good

I can’t believe it’s only 1:30 in the afternoon! I’ve gotten so much done already today-it feels great! I still have so much more going on before the day is over though, I just know I’m going to be exhausted by the end. I definitely need to go find myself some coffee!

Breakfast

I woke up and made a quick bowl of cereal so I could dive right into my to-do list. The banana was the perfect ripeness, so this was a very yummy bowl.

I spent the morning studying, researching, filling out applications, setting up interviews and basically trying to figure out what I’m going to be doing with the rest of my life! Quite the daunting task. I had a cup of TJ peppermint tea to reduce the stress a little. I love this tea, it’s so refreshing and soothing at the same time. I’ll try to remember to take a picture of the box next time so that you all can rush out and buy some!

I can’t stand sitting around all day though so after a few hours I started going a little stir-crazy. And what’s the perfect solution for that? Exercise, of course!

Hardest Run Ever

Over the past year I’ve started running. When I first decided to give it a try, I was horrible!!! I mean like 5 minutes on the treadmill at 5.0 and I was dying. It was not a pretty sight. I kept at it though and eventually increased my time and speed, and grew to love running!  I adore running outside, I think it’s so calming and liberating, but unfortunately don’t do it as often as I’d like. Living in the northeast makes running outside pretty miserable during the winter, and this summer I’m often too tired from being on my feet all day to go for a long run and tend to stick to cardio with less impact on my feet.

Anyway, when I’m running somewhere flat (like the trail I’m obsessed with near my house) I can do 6 miles relatively painlessly, and can stick to about a 9 min/mile. Less if I’m running a shorter distance. I’m really proud of how far I’ve come in my running abilities! Well today I decided to just run around my neighborhood instead of going to the trail. If any of you have ever been to Western PA, you know that it is HILLY. The route I took was beyond hard. Seriously, it was constantly up and down, I think out of the entire time I was running only 1/4 mi or so was flat. And some of these are BIG hills, my old beat-up car doesn’t even like going up them very much! 

I really, really pushed myself today and felt pretty good for the most part. There were definitely times that I wanted to quit, but I kept going and finished, panting and sweating like crazy. 2 hours and a cold shower later, and my face is still red! I did map-my-run when I got home and it was 3.5 mi and I finished in 35 minutes exactly. So this was a much slower pace than usual, and a shorter route (on an average run, I like to do 4 miles). So I guess that just goes to show you how hard this was. I just know I’m going to be sore tomorrow!

I love workouts like these though. Even though it was really hard while I was doing it, I just feel so good and strong afterwards, like I really accomplished something. I’m going to try to keep running this route during the last few weeks I’m home and see if I can improve at all. I love a challenge!

Lunch

After I stretched and showered I was more than ready for my very favorite part of running: re-fueling! I made a turkey, basil, laughing cow, eggbeater omelet with a ww english muffin. Yummy protein for my muscles! On the side I had some plain nf yogurt mixed with strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries. The fruit was so sweet that this tasted just like a decadent dessert! Boy do I love fruit!

Now I’m going to go reward my hard work this morning with a trip to the library for a new book. Then I have some other boring stuff to do before my early bird special dinner tonight. I have to eat around 5:15 in order to be at work by 6. I really don’t like eating dinner this early : ( I typically eat between 7-8 so hopefully I’m even hungry! I guess I’ll just skip a snack this afternoon to make sure I have room for an energizing dinner before a night on my feet!

See you all later!

3 Responses to “Feeling Good”


  1. 1 Jenn Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    What a relaxing day you’ve had so far! Well, except for the run – but even that can be considered “relaxing” because exercise makes you feel good 🙂

    I love the lunch, it’s got a little bit of all of my favorites! Have fun at the library – let us know what book you pick out!

  2. 2 Danielle Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Great job today! It was really inspirational to read that as I’m just starting to get into running and I could definitely use something to look forward to, I’m horrible 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your day!

  3. 3 fitnessista Wednesday, August 6, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    re-fueling is definitely the best part about running! i HATE running, but i do it because it makes me feel so good afterwards!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

