Good Food Makes Me Happy

Today was a long, long, long day and I am completely exhausted but on the bright side the food has been great! I started out the day rather predictably but after lunch things really got good. Lots of new products and recipes!

Breakfast

Today was another really long day at work, which of course required my usual energizing breakfast. I mixed it up a little bit by using 1/2 wheatberries, 1/2 fiber one (usually I do one or the other). This was a good idea but unfortunately I wasn’t a fan of it. The fiber one totally overpowered the wheatberries because the cereal is so much bigger than the little wheatberries. I missed the chewiness I love so much from them. For now on I’m sticking to one or the other. The pear I had though was seriously the sweetest one I’ve ever tasted. Wow, just thinking about it is making me drool!

Lunch

I had to pack my lunch to eat at work, so it’s the usual wrap. Sorry for being so repetitive! Also in the picture is the trail mix I packed as a snack.

Snack

Being on my feet for 9 or so hours really drains me, and I was smart today and packed a little snack that I could carry around in my pocket and sneak bites of throughout the afternoon! It really helped me avoid the tired/weakness that I usually get when I work these long days.

I love trail mix. For the most part though, I try to avoid buying them for a few reasons. 1) Since I love trail mix so much, my self control usually flies out the window and I find my hand dipping in the bag far too often. Which is a huge problem because…. 2) The serving size is laughably small. A single serving of trail mix packs in A TON of calories for only a few bites. Practically 1 little “I’ll just stick my hand in and grab a bite” ends up being 150 calories. Bad News. 3) So many trail mixes have ingredient lists that are miles long, many of which include partially hydrogentated oils. I don’t get this. Why does something so simple have to be made so complicated!

Well, last time I was at the grocery store I was really craving some trail mix and figured it would be an ideal snack for work. I found this brand which had a short and sweet ingredient list, just fruit, nuts, and seeds! It was really, really good. Especially the dried papaya, yumm! And of course the healthy fats kept me going this afternoon.

I got home around 6:15 and started prepping dinner. When I opened the fridge to put the salmon in to marinate, these were staring me in the face. Obviously I couldn’t resist.

Dinner

Dinner was incredible. Out of this world. Amazing. Salmon is definitely my favorite protein and I love trying it different ways. Tonight I used tons of spices to make this recipe. Definitely another winner. On the side I roasted asparagus and make some brown rice. Very filling and satisfying.

Dessert

I think I found a new favorite dessert: Weight Watchers Cookies and Cream Ice Cream Bars.

OH. MY. GOODNESS.

This was to die for. I’ve seen this bar on a few other blogs and have been wanting to try it. I’m so glad I did! This guy was perfect. Words can’t really describe it, so please go out and buy some for yourself. I can’t even believe that these are only 150 calories–they taste so decadent. Although nothing compares to DQ soft-serve, I definitely think I prefer this to regular hard ice cream. 


I can’t believe these are “diet” ice cream bars! They seem too good to be true! Sometimes I think about stuff like that–like one day a study will come out saying that diet soda actually contains hundreds of calories. All hell would break loose. Even if these things had 500 calories I think I would still eat them. They’re just that good.

Alright, I’ve been awake for far too many hours and am more than ready for bed. Tomorrow I have lots to get accomplished before I work a late shift (6-10). At least I get to eat all my meals at home! 

Goodnight!

4 Responses to “Good Food Makes Me Happy”


  1. 1 C Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Sorry you are so tired!

    I love those cookies and cream bars! And I keep forgetting to get some of those cherries!

    http://whatiateyesterday.wordpress.com/

  2. 2 C Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Oh, and Tag, you’re it! See my blog for details!

    http://whatiateyesterday.wordpress.com/

  3. 3 Jenn Tuesday, August 5, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Sweetest pear ever? That’s totally making me drool, too! It’s always fun to try mixing things up with the “usual” combinations. Sorry this one didn’t work out for you – but it still looks yummy!

    Great idea to bring trail mix to snack on all day! I’ve never seen that brand in the store before – I’ll have to look for it next time.

    I’m glad dinner turned out so well! Don’t you just love how spices can add so much flavor to a meal and yet have nothing but good-for-you, “calorieless” ingredients in them?

    And those Weight Watcher bars DO look amazing! Crunchy and creamy at the same time! I’m excited to try them out 🙂

  4. 4 Erin Thursday, August 7, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    I have the same problems with trail mix! Last week I ate over a cup and just started doing math and felt really guilty for eating over 600 cals.
    BUT IT’S SO GOOD!
    Your lunch looks tasty. I love flat-out wraps too!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

