Pleasantly Surprised

Snack

Despite my late lunch I still got pretty hungry this afternoon and needed a little something to keep my going until dinner. This incredibly juicy, perfectly sweet nectarine did the job wonderfully. I must say that I MUCH prefer nectarines to peaches. For some reason peaches have just been really hit or miss with me this summer, but I have yet to be disappointed by a nectarine. I guess that should teach me to stick with nectarines from now on!

Dinner

Ever since I saw this recipe for Maple Glazed Tempeh on Arielle’s blog I’ve wanted to give it a try. I was definitely intimidated of cooking with tempeh. In general I am NOT a fan of tofu. I really don’t like the consistency–it’s just too mushy and blah for me. I feared that tempeh would be a similar experience so I put off making it for a while. Today I decided to just go for it, and I am so glad I did. This was absolutely amazing. Like seriously good. The flavors were delicious, and the tempeh was a great consistency-dense and chewy. Perfect. As suggested in the recipe I made it with portobello mushrooms, green beans, and broccoli. I also made some brown rice and stir fried everything together at the end so all the flavors came together. 

A close up:

This was a seriously good meal. All the veggies made it really filling and I felt really healthy eating it. I would absolutely make this again. 

And there is nothing about tempeh to be scared of! It was really easy to work with and tasted great. I highly recommend everyone gives this a shot!

1 Response to “Pleasantly Surprised”


  1. 1 fitnessista Friday, August 1, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    hmm i’ve been sticking with peaches but it might be time to change it up a little bit 🙂 i’ve always been a little intimated of tempeh, but after reading this, i definitely need to try it! looks amazing 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

