Disappointed

Dinner

I knew that I needed to eat something to soak up my bad choices during Happy Hour. However I was in no condition for anything labor-intensive! Luckily we had these in the freezer:

I can’t give you an honest review of these because I don’t really remember what it tasted like, but at the time it seemed like the best thing I have ever eaten. And it really did it’s job—I felt better immediately after eating it.

Dessert

Then, as promised, came fruit and whipped cream:

Divine.

Then obviously was more whipped cream, some popcorn, and somehow (I have no idea how it happened—maybe it actually didn’t since there is no photographic evidence?!?) my hand ended up in the chocolate chip bag (and kashi cracker bag, and trail mix bag) multiple times. Dammit. I’m really disappointed in myself, especially after how I had just posted yesterday about the great progress I was making. This is just like a huge step backwards and I’m pretty upset. There’s alcohol for you…it leads to stupid decisions. I really think my limit is 1 drink, end of story. And I need to EAT something BEFORE I drink. I should have learned that lesson last time, but I didn’t. 

Oh well, tomorrow is a new day, and I’ll get back on track. Sometimes your body just needs a splurge to keep it guessing, so hopefully tonight didn’t do too much damage!

Now I am going to bed—I better get up early to exercise before work tomorrow or else I know I’ll be dragging all day!

Goodnight!

6 Responses to “Disappointed”


  1. 1 Leigh Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    All last semester i had this same downfall. In fact, I named my downfall “bad decisions thursday.” Really! Sometimes i would purposefully make bad decisions on thursdays just to continue this destructive tradition. and…i don’t remember where i was going with this.
    however, you’ll be fine, sarah! your diet is SO much better than the average American, by a LONGSHOT. Everyone slips a little bit, days like these make you human.

    PS: CLIF BAR MAPLE NUT REVIEW-
    Okay, I tried extra hard to be a food critic on this. I even smelled the bar, for goodness sake. It smelled sweet, which should have warned me but…this bar was really sweet. Kind of too sweet, in a sickly, mapley way. Go figure, the 2nd ingredient is maple syrup. The “nut” in “Maple Nut” is pecans. I’m not that crazy about pecans in the first place, so I would have preferred another kind, like almonds or cashews. However, it did hold me through an intense power yoga workout AND on a trip to the grocery store so I can’t complain about lack of satiety. It wasn’t my LEAST favorite Clif bar, but it was MILES away from Carrot Cake if all of the Clif products were arranged on a spectrum (which would be so cute).

  2. 2 fitnessista Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    hey girl,
    no worries! alcohol will do that to you– it has the sneaky way of making everything look so good! occasional slip-ups will not hurt you at all (which i’m sure you know), and there’s no way you expect your diet to be perfect all the time (and most of the time, it’s pretty darn perfect). i did the same thing tonight (3 desserts!!! it’s my “cheat night” and i definitely lived it up)- i’m just planning on starting over tomorrow, just like you 🙂 hope you have a good night!

  3. 3 lindzakins921 Thursday, July 31, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    awww seriously DON’T stress! tomorrow is another day and everything in moderation right??? and i totally agree with fitnessista that alcohol will definitely give you the munchies!!!! i’ve been there 🙂

  4. 4 glidingcalm Friday, August 1, 2008 at 7:03 am

    I love your attitude…tomorrow IS a new day…not to worry! And your eats have been super healthy lately, and at least your splurges were as well! Everyone eats a little more than planned occasionally; no biggie! On a happy note, your fruit and whip cream look AMAZING. I may have to pick myself up some whip cream. It just sounds spectacular. Fruit really is my favorite dessert! Anyways, Happy Friday…interesting to know that Healthy Choice makes good paninos too, since I think I’ve only tried the Lean Cusine once.

  5. 5 Aimee Friday, August 1, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Love martini’s but they have the same effect on me:) I was supposed to go to Olive and Twist (which I love, if you haven’t tried it yet) for Happy Hour with our Summer Associates, but I had to work until 8pm.

    Have a great Friday!

  6. 6 Jenn Friday, August 1, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    I have found that it is definitely key to eat something before you have a drink. Otherwise I get the mindset that it’s ok to have everything because of, well, lower inhibitions!

    And I’m with you…no photographic evidence = no calories, right?!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

