Return of the Oats

Breakfast

I cannot believe how long it’s been since I’ve had a comforting bowl of oatmeal. Since I had some time this morning I made the most unbelievable bowl yet. The banana I used was super ripe which made for an extra sweet bowl. Of course I mixed in some wheatberries, and let me say that they really do add a whole new dimension to oatmeal. They give it such a great texture and crunch and I think it makes it helps hold me over a lot longer too. I also added some ground flax, cinnamon, and vanilla. Delicious!

After I digested for a few hours I went out for the best run I’ve had in a while. Instead of just running through my neighborhood I went down to a little trail that I love but don’t always have time to go to. It’s perfect because it’s pretty flat, there are mile markers, and it’s really pretty—lots of trees which shade you from the sun. I love running there because there are always tons of people with friends and dogs out walking, running and biking. And everyone is so friendly—they always smile and say hi when you pass. It’s little things like that which really make my day.

Lunch

I hate to say it but Panera really let me down today. I ordered the Strawberry Poppyseed Salad with chicken to go and when I went to eat my lunch….no chicken!! I was so disappointed, I really was looking forward to some protein after my long run this morning. I guess this just goes to show why it’s so important to check your order before you leave. Oh well, it was still delicious. As you all know by know I am obsessed with fruit at the moment, so this still left me happy.

Snack

My left leg was so stiff while I was running this morning that I couldn’t wait to get to my yoga class tonight to stretch it out. Also, Tuesday nights are Vigorous Warm Flow which is my favorite class of the week! Before I went I had a full sized Clif Bar: Cool Mint Chocolate. This is actually my first time having a full-sized Clif, I usually stick to the minis or Zbars but I figured that I needed the extra fuel since 1) This would be my 2nd vigorous workout of the day and 2) THEY FORGOT MY CHICKEN!! 

This bar was really good, it tasted a lot like the Chocolate Brownie flavor but with a mint twist. It really kept me full and energized all during yoga and while I was prepping dinner. I would definitely buy this again.

Dinner

I had quite a colorful dinner tonight! I made a sort of Florentine Fish. I originally had planned on using Orange Roughy but when I saw that it was $12.99/lb while Cod was only $5.99/lb I quickly changed my plan. I never really buy Cod and now I know why–let’s just say that what this meal has in color it lacks in flavor! It sure is pretty though!

It was really simple to make too—I just put down a bed of frozen thawed spinach and topped with the cod and a mixture of roasted red peppers, basil, red pepper flakes, and 1T skim milk which I stuck in the food processor. Then it was into a 400* oven, covered, for 30 minutes.

As a side I made some quinoa which is one of my very favorite grains! It was even better tonight because I made it using chicken broth instead of just water. This added so much more flavor! 

It’s back to work tomorrow, but I do have a new recipe to try for dinner which I’m really excited about! And don’t worry, I’ll be back later tonight for some dessert!

3 Responses to “Return of the Oats”


  1. 1 Fitnessista Tuesday, July 29, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    sounds like you had an intense workout day! your run sounds like it was glorious- i love trail running! it makes the treadmill such a drag when you know you could be outside rnning on a beautiful trail!

    the cliff bar looks awesome. i’m like you, i usually stick to the z-bars, but you definitely earned a full-size one today (especially because they cheated you on the chicken….).

    i like to make my grains with chicken broth too 🙂

    hope the rest of your night goes well!

  2. 2 Jenn Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Mmm, oatmeal with wheatberries. Life doesn’t get much better than that! And I love it when people say “hi” when you pass – you don’t get that too much on the streets of Chicago, but I try to do it on campus when I’m alone and someone else is alone. It’s a lot less awkward and like you said, it makes ya feel good!

    Man, I hate it when Panera forgets something – it’s so unusual, but when it happens I’m bummed. One time though, they forgot to give me whole grain, so they ended up giving me an extra one to make up for it. And that is why they are still my favorite 🙂

    Thanks for the review on the Clif bar – I haven’t seen that flavor yet! I’ll be on the lookout. And your dinner is gorgeous – even if it was bland!

  3. 3 Aimee Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    That Indian place sounds good and it looks like it is close to Benihana, which my mom loves and is really the only Greentree restaurant I’ve been too. I will have to try it soon!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

