Perfect Day

Ahh, what a glorious day. It’s Friday, the sun is shining, I’m not at work, I got to partake in many of my favorite activities, and I have a fun girl’s night to look forward to! 

Breakfast

I woke up absolutely starving again this morning! I don’t understand why my stomach has been such a bottomless pit these past few days! I didn’t want to overload it though because I was going to my morning yoga class, and there is nothing worse than an uncomfortably full tummy during all that bending and twisting. 

I ended up making my usual: fiber one, kashi go lean, WHEATBERRIES (I have to make more–we’re all out!!) skim, and flax. I was still a little hungry when I finished eating but after about 20 minutes my brain caught up and registered that I was full. I guess what they tell you about eating slowly so your body can register when it’s full is really true. Slowing down while eating is something that I’m constantly working on.

Lunch

After yoga I did some grocery shopping and unloading for my grandparents, and then headed home to pick up some special ingredients for myself. While I was at my grocery store I picked up a big salad for myself because I was getting really hungry again and wasn’t in the mood to prepare something at home. 

This gargantuan salad had all sorts of veggies, some tuna, and some other random “specialty salads”. It was so good! What I really love about this salad bar is the cooked (and chilled) asparagus. I really love asparagus and it tastes great in salad!

Baking Adventures

My friend is having a Girl’s Night Martini Party tonight and I am so excited! A bunch of my high school girlfriends are meeting up and we’re making a bunch of fun martinis. Of course I can’t show up empty handed so I decided to bake!

I actually had 2 baking adventures today, so I’ll bore you with the healthy one first. I made Oatmeal, Blueberry, and Orange Muffins for my family to have. I actually got this recipe from a novel (not a cookbook!) I recently read The Friday Night Knitting Club and really enjoyed it! The best part was that at the end of the book there was a muffin recipe! These guys have all sorts of good stuff in them: oats, whole wheat flour, honey, orange juice, blueberries, and other (less exciting) muffin ingredients. 

I highly recommend you go get the book—not only will you have an entertaining read, but a muffin recipe to boot! I haven’t tried these yet, but I’ll give the final verdict as soon as I do. They sure smell good though!

And now the best part.

Chocolate-Mint Brownies. I think my Thin Mint Blizzard incredible-ness sparked a need for more mint-chocolate goodness in my life.

I got this recipe from my America’s Best Cookies cookbook. It was really simple.

  • Preheat oven to 350* Grease 9×9 pan
  • Melt 1 stick butter with .75 c sugar and 2T water. Mix in 1 c chocolate chips, .75 t vanilla. Let sit 5 min
  • Beat in 2 eggs, 1 at a time.
  • Stir in 1.25c flour, .5t baking soda, .5t salt
  • Stir in 1 c mint chips
  • Bake ~20 minutes.
These look and smell absolutely incredible! I can’t wait to taste one, but I have to control myself because I know that if I have one I won’t be able to stop and then there won’t be any left for the party! I’ll report back to you soon though, but I’m sure they will be delicious.
5 Responses to “Perfect Day”


  1. 1 totaltransformation Friday, July 25, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    “Chocolate-Mint Brownies”

    My mouth is soooo watering now. Yummy.

  2. 2 sarah's mom Friday, July 25, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Please save me a brownie!

  3. 3 Kristie Friday, July 25, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    A girls martini night sounds like so much fun, have an awesome time!
    And please give me one of those brownies. They are completely drool-worthy.

  4. 4 Jenn Saturday, July 26, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    WOW Sarah! Both of those baked sweets look absolutely delicious! I love the mint brownie idea – I didn’t even know they made mint chips! Did you just find them at your regular grocery store?

    Yay wheatberries! I love them so much – I really need to make another batch too 🙂

    That girl’s night sounds like so much fun. I did something similar with my friends in Chicago once – we even rented a hotel! I hope you had a wonderful time.

    That’s so great that your mom commented about the brownies too! Can you send one my way as well? Happy Saturday!

  5. 5 Susan Monday, January 5, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    All the food pictured looks ao appetizing, and it’s
    nice to meet someone who’s tried out the muffin recipe from The Friday Night Knitting Club. I actually interviewed the author of this great book, Kate Jacobs, on my blog!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

