Best Salmon Ever

I know that’s a pretty bold statement, especially coming from someone who loves salmon as much as I do. But seriously tonight’s dinner was probably one of the best I’ve ever had–in a restaurant or from my own kitchen. It more than made up for the less than exciting dinners the past few nights. But more on that later. First things first.

Pre-Workout Snack

I slept in until 9:00 this morning. To some that might not seem that late, but for me it’s a big deal. I almost never sleep past 8 even if I have nothing to do during the day. Needless to say, I didn’t make it to my morning yoga. Instead I just did some cardio around here. I ate a mini clif bar to fuel my workout. If this isn’t worth getting out of bed to exercise for, I just don’t know what is.

Brunch

By the time I was finished exercising, showering, and getting ready for work it was already getting pretty late. I decided to combine breakfast/lunch and have a big brunchy meal. I made my very favorite omelet with eggbeaters, lox, laughing cow, mushrooms, and fresh basil (!) This was the first time I’ve added the basil and it was unbelievable. It really made the omelet taste so much better, I will definitely be doing this again. Along with my eggs I had a yummy Ezekial Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin and a big, sweet, Gala apple. This was so sweet that I saved it for the end and it was almost like a dessert.

Snack

For a snack at work I packed some blackberries and Fage. Sorry for the horrible picture. It was good, nothing too out of the ordinary, but it helped keep up my energy for being on my feet all day.

Dinner

And then came the best meal I’ve had in a long, long, time. Sweet-Spicy Glazed Salmon Seriously if you want to do something good for yourself, make this recipe ASAP. You’ll thank me, I promise. I used dijon mustard and Splenda brown sugar blend. It came out FABULOUSLY. The salmon was really moist and flakey, and the glaze was out of this world. The sweet, spicy combo was divine, and sticking it under the broiler made the glaze create a crispy crust on the top. 

I wanted the salmon to really be the star of this meal so I just rounded it out with some simple sides of steamed green beans and brown rice. Words cannot even describe how good this dinner was. I definitely redeemed myself after my debacle in the kitchen a few days ago!

I hope everyone had a great day, and that all of your dinners were as good and satisfying as mine. Although unless you made this salmon I really don’t see how that could be possible ; )

7 Responses to “Best Salmon Ever”


  1. 1 glidingcalm Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    That salmon does look so good!! I adore salmon! And steamed green beans remind me of home! I had them ALL the time growing up! 🙂

    Have a great evening, and happy Thursday!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Ahh, Gala apples – love ’em!!

    Wishing you a very happy Wednesday!!

  3. 3 Jenn Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 7:29 am

    You certainly had some yummy eats today, Sarah! I’m so glad you turned me on to the Laughing Cow cheese with eggs – genius! I had that for breakfast Tuesday and Wednesday morning and couldn’t get over how great it was!

    Wow, that salmon looks absolutely FANTASTIC! I’ve been too scared to cook salmon because I know it’s one of those fish you have to cook just right in order to get the best taste out of it. Looks like you’ve really got it down though! And that glaze just looks amaaaazing!!

    I am writing you back today – I think I said before, but work has been just insane (which is a good thing, I guess!) Have a wonderful Thursday!!

  4. 4 C Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 11:26 am

    That salmon looks great. I love playing around with different glazes for it!

  5. 5 Kristie Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I’m always hoping to find the perfect salmon recipe since I have really no experience cooking salmon and need good ways to dress it up, so that one sounds pretty darn great. Anything with a mustardy sauce/glaze has my vote!

  6. 6 Danielle Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Congratulations my friend, you have just recieved the Brillante Weblog award from yours truly! Check out my blog for my info 🙂

  7. 7 Fitnessista Thursday, July 24, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    i had to stop myself from taking a bite into my computer screen when i saw that salmon. it looks incredible!! i’ll definitely have to give that recipe a try 🙂
    i would definitely get out of bed for one of those cliff bars!

    hope you’re having a great day!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

