I can’t think of a title

I went to bed last night dreaming of creamy banana oatmeal but when I woke up this morning, I just wasn’t feeling it. For the first time ever oatmeal just seemed really unappealing to me. I spent a good 5 minutes standing in the kitchen trying to decide what I really felt like eating. NOTHING was calling out to me. This really has never happened before. I knew that I didn’t want anything that was labor-intensive to make or required dishes to wash, so I settled on a big bowl of cereal. I added a banana this time and it was so good. There is something about bananas in cold cereal which just really hits the spot for me. I think it’s the combo with the milk that is just really appealing to me for some reason. I think I might try chopped banana in milk as a snack some time. It sounds weird but I really think I would like it. This breakfast hit the spot and wasn’t too heavy so I was able to get a good workout in shortly after.

Lunch was fantastic.

I was working a long shift tonight 1-930 so I knew I needed a good meal to keep me fueled and satisfied since I had to pack a “lunch” for dinner. When we were at TJ this weekend we picked up some Mango Chicken Sausage which was unbelievable. Seriously, SO GOOD. There were actual chunks of mango involved, and the sweet-savory combo was out of this world. I had it on a Rudi’s Wheat Bun which I had also never tried before but was also amazing. The best hot dog bun I’ve ever had–it was extra doughy and good. I toasted the bun up on the grill pan as I was making the sausage so it was extra crispy and delicious! On the side I had some veggies.

I packed myself some almonds to eat throughout the day. 

I had to pack dinner tonight. I really don’t mind packing lunches, but I hate having to pack dinners. For some reason a lunch that would normally fill me up for hours just doesn’t do anything for me when I have it for dinner. I think that my mind is playing tricks on my stomach and just isn’t convinced that a sandwich to-go constitutes a dinner. 

Anyway, I had a turkey sandwich on Ezekial with a sweet Jazz apple.

Now, as I’m blogging I’m snacking on a yogurt and some fruit: a pear and CHERRIES! Any day that included Rainier cherries is a success in my opinion : )

8 Responses to “I can’t think of a title”


  1. 1 Aimee Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Yea for Giant Eagle yogurt!!! Do you shop at the market district in the South Hills? I’m hoping we get something good in the North Hills so I can stop driving to East Liberty for Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. My Giant Eagle is pretty big, but the Market Districts are a lot better for natural foods.

  2. 2 Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 9:03 am

    I’ll have to try that Mango Chicken Sausage one day, it sounds so good.

    Where do you buy Rudi’s Wheat Buns?

  3. 3 Sarah Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Aimee,
    Luckily the South Hills Market District is the closest grocery store to my house (only about 5 minutes away!) It’s so great, honestly almost as good as Whole Foods. I still make the trek out to East Liberty about once a month for special products that I can only get at WF and TJ but I’m really lucky that Market District is so close. And I LOVE this brand of yogurt. I think it is so great for a dessert because the flavors are so fun! I usually eat plain nf or greek yogurt during the day but for a special treat these are perfect.

    Foodie,
    Rudi’s buns are from Trader Joe’s. And yes, you HAVE to try the sausage it’s amazing. I’ve also had the Apple Chicken Sausage which was good too, but nothing compares to mango!

  4. 4 Fitnessista Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Mango Chicken Sausage??? Wow that sounds glorious. I keep praying every day that they’ll open a TJs here! Until then, I have to keep sending food orders to my mom 🙂
    That turkey sandwich also looks delicious!!!
    Hope you have a great day 🙂

  5. 5 Jenn Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Mmm that chicken sausage sounds so good! I’ve tried the Amylu brand before from Costco and loved it, but I think I might have to pick up some TJ’s brand once I finish those up! I’ve also never tried Rudi’s bread products, but have heard about them so many times that they must be good!

    A day that includes Rainier cherries is definitely a success 🙂

    Have a great Wednesday, Sarah!

  6. 6 totaltransformation Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    So how are you enjoying WordPress compared to Blogspot?

  7. 7 blueberryhil Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    I definitely agree about packed dinners…I hate them and avoid them at all costs. If you have a microwave or access to hot water, dehydrated soup can be a good option. Hot food somehow seems much more dinner-like.

    I also like packing salads…just throw together greens and some kind of protein and some nuts for garnish. You can transport the dressing in a plastic bag. If it separates, you just squish the bag a bit before pouring the dressing on your salad. With a roll, that can seem like a very satisfying dinner.

  8. 8 Sarah Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Jenn,
    This was the first time I’ve tried Rudi’s and I am so glad I finally did. These buns were great and I definitely will be buying more of their products in the future! I really want to find the bagels that Jenna at Eatliverun buys!

    totaltransformation,
    wordpress is 10000000x better than blogspot! I’m SO glad I made the switch!

    blueberryhil,
    Thanks for the tips–I think I will try packing more salads because those do feel more like “dinner” to me than sandwiches do. We do have a microwave but I always try to leave and eat my meals elsewhere because it’s always SO COLD that I need to warm myself up. I think I would feel sort of silly walking around with a bowl of soup, but maybe I’ll give it a try. It’s too bad we don’t have a freezer or I could make some of the Kashi frozen dinners which I think are actually pretty decent.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

