Up With the Sun

I was up early this morning to eat breakfast and head to my yoga class-which was so great today. The weather was really strange when I woke up, very muggy and foggy-no sun whatsoever. The yoga studio has a whole wall of windows on one side and right when we finished our 20 billion sun salutations the fog lifted and the sun came out. It was so cool and really brightened (corny!) my day! Today’s class was especially energizing and relaxing at the same time. I got some really good deep stretches in, felt really strong, and left feeling so much less stress than when I came in. Oh how I love yoga!

Before class I decided to try out a new breakfast. I usually have cereal but I had that yesterday and was in the mood to try something else. I needed a breakfast that would keep me satiated but not weigh me down and jiggle around in my stomach while I’m standing on my head. I decided on Kashi Strawberry Flax waffles and Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter. These 2 products separately are amazing but I wasn’t thrilled with the flavors together. Next time I’ll stick with the PB with Ezekial Cin-Raisin English Muffin. 

This combo was a winner in keeping me full and happy though!

After yoga I ran some errands including stopping at the library for more books! and going to the grocery store to get some ingredients for tonight’s dinner. While I was there I picked up a salad from the amazing salad bar. This thing seriously is almost as good as the one from WF. I loaded it up with a little bit of everything, and enjoyed it with my new book. I reserved “A Prisoner of Birth” by Jeffery Archer and it finally is my turn. Now I have to hurry and finish it within a week, but I don’t think that will be a problem because he is one of my favorite authors ever. His books are all so suspenseful and have tons of great twists, which I love. If you haven’t read anything by him yet, I highly recommend it! My favorites were “Kane and Abel” and “False Impressions”

3 Responses to “Up With the Sun”


  1. 1 Sharon Monday, July 21, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I am interested in trying yoga myself! I do have a book from Chapters, and I am excited to try it!

    I love waffles, but I can’t seem to find Kashi ones! Only kelloggs or generic store brands. 😦

  2. 2 Jenn Monday, July 21, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I honestly have never tried yoga. Perhaps that will be something I can try based on your recommendation! I wouldn’t even know where to begin – thoughts? 🙂

  3. 3 Sarah Monday, July 21, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Yoga is so great, I recommend anyone and everyone tries it! I think the best place to start would be to take an intro or beginner class at a STUDIO. In my experience taking classes at a yoga studio rather than at a gym is infinitely better. I think that at a yoga studio the instructors are much more passionate and really will do whatever it takes to make the practice work for you, whereas at a gym it’s often more about focusing on the exercise portion of yoga rather than the whole experience of mind-body connection, breathing, relaxation, balance, etc. But don’t get me wrong—it’s not all light and fluffy meditation at a studio—yoga is hard work and great exercise!

    Another suggestion I have is to give it more than 1 chance. Every instructor is different and can really make or break the experience. When I took my very first class my teacher was really weird, my friend Aliza and I still joke about him. He had us walk around like monkeys one class….I really didn’t think yoga was for me until I gave it another shot a few months later, loved the teacher, and ended up falling in love with the practice. Personally my favorite style is Ashtanga because it is more fast-paced and aerobic and consists of the same series of postures each time so you get into a good rhythm and really can relax.

    Honestly I’ve never tried a yoga video before! I’ve heard some good things (Jenna from Eatliverun.com downloads some programs on her ipod) so that is a good option if you don’t want to spend the money on a class. I think this is a good idea but only after you have done a few actual classes with an instructor so that you know what the proper alignment is for the important postures.

    Whew, that was long. I hope everyone gives it a shot though because yoga has seriously changed my life. Let me know how it goes!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

