Intuitive Eating?

Today was pretty boring: exercise, work, the usual. It was leftovers for dinner so I didn’t even get to cook anything fun and new. There’s always tomorrow for that though! I’m off work again so a new kitchen creation is in the picture. 

Breakfast this morning was my cereal mix: kashi go lean, fiber one, wheatberries, skim, and flax. I just love everything about this cereal bowl, all the different flavors and textures go so well together and it’s really filling and satisfying. 

After breakfast I had a very productive morning. I exercised, registered to take my GRE (August 25–eek!) and did some studying for that as well as for the LSAT (October 4). As you can see, I really have no idea what I want to do with my life! Too bad I can’t just be a professional food taster. I could work at WF and make sure all the products are tasty enough for everyone to eat. Haha, I wish. 

I had an early lunch before I headed in to work. I tried some new soup that I picked up from TJs. It’s Creamy Corn and Roasted Pepper soup. It was really good. I know it’s summer so soup may seem like an odd choice but I am always freezing so it was a good pick. Along with the soup I had a Garlic and Herb Flat Out Wrap and a JAZZ APPLE. Yep, I picked some more up at WF yesterday, and once again they are amazing. SO sweet it’s like eating candy!

I packed a new snack to bring with me to work today. It’s a trail mix from TJ with dried fruit and nuts. It was pretty good, I loved the tartness of the dried fruit, and loved how there were blueberries and raspberries in it because that’s not something you see that often. Actually, I don’t know if I’d ever had a dried blueberry before? This was good but my only complaint is that the almonds are slivered too thin and were hard to eat–like they weren’t consistent in size to the fruit. Hmmm. I had 1 serving, which is 1/4 cup.

Like I said, dinner was leftovers. The tilapia and roasted veggies from the other night along with a side salad. This was good but not as moist or flakey as it was last time. The veggies were somehow better though, which is surprising. They weren’t as crispy obviously but the flavor was great. I think it’s because they had time to soak up all the juices from the fish sauce.  

A few hours later I had dessert. Fresh fruit: peach, strawberries, and the last of the cherries (tear!) along with some dulce de leche meringues and a ginger snap from TJ. These are really good, they have a great flavor and are crispy but chewy at the same time. This was the perfect light snack.

I’m so happy with how my intuitive eating has been going the past few days. I’ve really been listening to my body and giving it what it craves. I can proudly say that for the third day in a row I’ve had no “unauthorized” snacking and haven’t been grabbing bites of food here and there. Today at work we had an event and there were all sort of store-bought cookies and candy (jolly ranchers, starburst, etc) and in the past I definitely would have had more than I needed to just because it was there. But I honestly wasn’t hungry (I had just had my snack) and the stuff really didn’t even look very good–dry and crumbly looking. I ended up passing on the treats because I thought about it and really didn’t want or need any. Hooray for intuitive eating!

I’ve been trying so hard to focus on eating what I want rather than focusing solely on calories. Being such an avid calorie-counter in the past it’s been really hard for me not to add things up in my head, and there have been quite a few times where I’ve logged onto sparkpeople and had to talk myself out of entering my food. When I do that I think I focus too much on a number and don’t pay any attention to my actual hunger. Like if I am under my calorie limit all of a sudden magically I’m hungry and have to have another snack, but in reality I’m really not hungry at all. I’m thinking this also has a lot to do with my picking at foods throughout the night. Not only will I be unsatisfied and need to munch my way through the kitchen, but if I see that I still have 200 calories left then I’ll just have a handful of this and a few bites of that assuming that I’ll still be under my limit. Then, on the other hand, if I go over my limit I feel guilty and gross. I really think that if I just eat what I really feel like and keep portions under control it will all balance out in the end: some days more, some days less. I’m not going to lie, it has been hard so far to give up counting, and it does make me a little anxious but I really think that once I get past this mental hurdle I’ll be able to have a much better relationship with food and will enjoy it even more than I do now.

Whew, sorry for that long, incoherent mess!

I’m off to change into my pjs and get ready for Next Food Network Star. Goodnight!

7 Responses to “Intuitive Eating?”


  1. 1 Kristie Sunday, July 20, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I want to be able to give up on calorie counting but I’m afraid to do it. I half gave up once last year, not because I felt ready to give up and thought I could handle healthy eating and portion control on my own but because I was lazy and just kind of stopped doing it, and I put on weight. Although I also started to just snack more and be less active because of the point I was at in my life.
    I think giving up now I would be much more successful because it would be a conscious, thought out and ready made decision. But I’m still fearful to do it. I might try taking it slow and maybe taking a day off here and there in the near future and see how I do with just eating what I feel for and not worrying about calories.
    Good for you for really trying to focus on what you want and trying to get away from the severe restriction of the numbers. Keep us readers updated on how that’s working out for you, I want to try to ditch this whole calorie mentality a bit too. And I’m starting to. But it sure is tough.

  2. 2 Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Monday, July 21, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Ha ha, I would also love to be a professional food taster!

    Congrats on doing so well with the intuitive eating!

  3. 3 Jenn Monday, July 21, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Man, what I wouldn’t give to be a professional food taster. Perhaps all of us food bloggers should start a new trend – think it would work? 😉

    Congratulations on stopping the calorie counting. I’m sort of there, but not quite. I typically log my breakfast, lunch and snacks so I have an idea of what I can eat once I get home for work for dinner and dessert. The logging is partly out of boredom (for the slow times at work, haha) and partly because I just like to feel that sense of security. I know I don’t truly need it, but knowing where I stand once I get home from work seems to make it easier for me to make smarter food choices. As long as that continues and I don’t become too obsessive, I guess I’ll keep it up. But you’re definitely inspiring me to embrace more intuitive eating!

  4. 4 Aimee Monday, July 21, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Grad school admission tests are not much fun!! Looks like all that studying isn’t messing with your healthy eating though! When I was studying for the Bar Exam a year ago, I was always looking for a snack and then wanted to get ice cream for dinner!

  5. 5 Leigh Monday, July 21, 2008 at 11:15 am

    that soup looks SO good. i’m so jealous that you have trader joes access, as i am desperatly void of any. apparently, tjs has felt no need to move to the greater austin area.
    ps jazz apples are so good. they are almost as good as honeycrisp. almost.

  6. 6 C Monday, July 21, 2008 at 11:36 am

    You are doing great!!

    I think intuitive eating is sometimes harder than dieting. Even this morning I was tempted to diet, fighting those urges is the hardest thing for me.

  7. 7 Julz Monday, July 21, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    You’re doing so great Beauty! Keep it up!!! 🙂 And thank you SO much for the sweetest comments ever! You truly are the dearest of the dear and quite the writer… Thank you again and again! Have a great Monday!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

