Finally

Sigh of relief.

Tomorrow I finally have a day off. Believe me, I plan on enjoying it to the fullest. As for today, it was busy as usual. I worked the night shift for a change though, so I got to start my day off with a leisurely breakfast. Basic banana oats. Man were these good. The banana was the perfect ripeness and everything came together perfectly into a creamy bowl of deliciousness.

After I digested a bit I got some cardio in and ran errands (got my car fixed!). I couldn’t decide what to have for lunch so I decided to have a mix of all of my favorites. I had some amazing cherries (still in love), fage with raspberries and a peach, and a slice of ezekial sesame bread with cinnamon raisin pb. This was probably the best lunch I have ever had. Seriously.

Oh, and I also had a billion one or two cherries throughout the day that didn’t make it into a picture ; )

 

I had to pack a dinner tonight since I was working till 10. I made the usual wrap but this time with canned salmon rather than tuna. Wow. I’ve never tried canned salmon before but it was amazing. SO much more flavorful than tuna! I will definitely be buying this more often.

As soon as I walked in the door I stuck some kettle corn in the microwave for a snack. Even though dinner was filling I was STARVING by the time work was done.

The popcorn didn’t fill me up though so I had some yogurt. I mixed in some granola and berries after I took the picture. Then I had some more granola, and cherries, but it was impulse eating. Ugh, I keep trying to stop this nighttime unauthorized snackage, but something comes over me and I just can’t! Peanut Butter granola is dangerous stuff. 

I think my problem might be that I don’t get enough calories in during the day when I’m most active but since I do load up on fiber and protein my hunger doesn’t really hit me right away. Then it all comes at night and I realize how hungry I actually am. I’m going to try to eat more during the day when I need the extra fuel and then I might not need to eat so much at night right before I’m getting ready to go to bed.

2 Responses to “Finally”


  1. 1 blueberryhil Friday, July 18, 2008 at 10:21 am

    I would definitely reccomend trying to add a few more calories to your day. I know that for me, just beefing up my breakfast a bit made a huge difference in curbing my desire for mid-morning snacks. Good luck, and good for you for realizing that your body is telling you that it needs more energy!

  2. 2 Jenn Friday, July 18, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Those banana oats look so creamy! I love the early morning light of the photo, too 🙂

    I’m so glad you’re still in love with the cherries! Honestly, I can’t take credit for them because my mom was the one who always brought them into our house when I was growing up – she’s a genius, what can I say?

    I’m sorry about the snacky problem – I think adding more food throughout the day really does help.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

