Busy Day

Today was nonstop but dessert made it all worth it. More on that later, though.

First things first: I was up super early again to get in a good cardio-sesh before work. Having a pre-workout snack has been making the biggest difference in my hunger/energy level for the day, i’m so glad I started doing it. This morning was a small bowl of Kashi Go-Lean with unsweetened chocolate almond milk.

After I sweated, showered, and styled ; ) I made a delicious breakfast. And it’s something different too! I’m branching out so much for you guys, I deserve a round of applause. But really I should be thanking you because this really made my mouth happy:

Kashi Strawberry-Flax waffles topped with some fake butter and warmed up berries with maple syrup. Warming up the toppings instead of putting it on cold makes a huge difference. The berries get really juicy and sweet and there isn’t the harsh contrast between the warm waffles and cold syrup. This was seriously delicious. And the best part was, it came together FAST and easily. 

For lunch today I packed a big salad with tuna and a pear. The best part of the salad by far were those little pickles. They’re called Cornichon Pickles (I think they’re French) and I got them at Whole Foods. They are so good, and so cute too!

After a long work-day I went straight to yoga. On my way I had a clif mini. These are so good. They look really small but they are super dense, moist, and surprisingly filling.

I got home from an intense class and long day around 8:00 tonight and was greeted with a fridge that looked like this:

Yeah, so my dinner options were pretty limited. I was hungry and didn’t have many choices so I quickly threw together my favorite go-to meal for situations like this:

An omelet made with smoked salmon and laughing cow cheese. This is so good, the cheese is really creamy and the salmon is salty and tasty. It reminds me a lot of this omelet my mom and I got once at a great breakfast place in Boston made with Boursin cheese. This isn’t quite as good, but it’s fast, tasty, and healthy. I paired it with another Ezekial Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin, which honestly makes any meal a winner.

Needless to say, as soon as I finished dinner I was out the door and to the grocery store. While there I picked up a TON of fresh fruit. I couldn’t wait to dig in, and had the most amazingly sweet, fresh, light dessert when I got home.

A yummy mix of fresh raspberries, blackberries, reddi-whip and RAINIER CHERRIES. I don’t think I’ve ever had them before but saw them on Jenn’s blog and knew I had to give them a try. Words cannot do these babies justice. They are so incredibly sweet and flavorful and amazing. It took everything in me not to eat the whole batch tonight (but then I would have no more tomorrow so I was able to control myself). These really are my new favorite food. To put things in perspective: rainier cherries > chocolate. Whoa, bold statement. But seriously, if you haven’t tried them. GO. NOW. 

Now I’m zonked from a long day and tomorrow will be busy too, but then I have Friday off!! I will finally be able to entertain you all with some good cooking : )

I finished my book at lunch today so now I’m off to start a new one: Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos. If you haven’t already noticed, I’m a total book-worm and would rather curl up with a good book over pretty much anything else (well besides eating cherries). So any good suggestions are always appreciated-I fly threw them!

Goodnight my lovely readers. I wish you all sweet dreams of rainier cherries.

4 Responses to “Busy Day”


  1. 1 Jenn Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Hurray for Rainier cherries! I was beyond thrilled to read that you tried them and loved them – even more than chocolate? WOW! I’m so flattered that you enjoy what I eat, haha! If we meet up sometime, we will definitely do dinner – even though I’ll never let you pay 🙂

    Those waffles look amazing! I’ve never tried heating up the toppings beforehand – I will have to next time to get all those juices you were talking about!

    For some reason, I really like having eggs for dinner. Your omelette sounds awesome – I’ve never tried the Laughing Cow cheese – what’s your favorite?

  2. 2 Heather Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Oh man, cornichons are the BEST- perfect for salads!

    And, weirdly enough since I love chocolate anything, I’ve never even considered putting chocolate milk on my cereal… thanks for the suggestion!

  3. 3 Sarah Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 11:19 am

    laughing cow cheese is SO good! it has a great creamy texture so it’s a great substitute for cream cheese on bagels, and is really good for scooping up with carrots and celery. They are all good, but I think my favorite is the French Onion followed by the Garlic and Herb. Yumm!

  4. 4 C Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I love those cherries, too!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

