Endorphins Make You Happy…

Today I was in SUCH a better mood than yesterday. And I think some good old exercise endorphins are the cause. Exercise is such a stress-reliever for me, it’s a time just for me where I can think (or not) and really let out all my frustrations. I always feel 100x better afterwards.

This morning I got up extra early to get a good cardio workout in. Before I started, I had half of this Kashi bar. It was excellent.

After I showered and got ready for work I made breakfast. As promised, I switched it up a little for you guys. Today was oatmeal, made with unsweetened chocolate almond breeze, skim, wheatberries! and flax. It was comforting and warm (the AC is always on way too high in my house!!) but definitely did not keep me full as long as my yogurt breakfast does.

Tuna wrap with an apple for lunch. Nothing unusual there. 

Today was an earlier shift than the past few days so I could actually make it yoga. I’m so glad because Tuesday nights are my favorite class of the week. It’s a “warm flow” class, where the room is heated, but not quite as hot as Bikram (I think we heat it to 90-some degrees) and it is a flow/power class with lots of vinyasas and good stuff like that…very sweaty, to say the least. I think one of the main reasons I love this class is because I am ALWAYS cold. Even when everyone else is complaining how hot it is somewhere, I’m freezing. So exercising in a hot room is a nice change. 

I feel so good right now. Yoga is like a drug to me. Whenever I don’t have it, I just don’t feel right. I’m so tight and stiff and uncomfortable. Before class I had the other half of my Kashi bar from this morning.

Dinner was more leftovers:

The chicken was even better today after it had sat and absorbed all the flavors for a few nights. SO. GOOD. I really think the key is using chicken thighs rather than breasts. I know there is a lot more fat but I’m really thinking it’s worth it. The chicken was so moist and tender and didn’t dry out at all. 

After dinner I had some kettle corn while reading. I love this stuff. The sweet/salty combo is amazing. Sometimes if I’m feeling extra-indulgent I’ll throw in some chocolate chips. I just remembered that now though, after I finished eating it, which is a shame because it would have been really good.


A little later in the night I had another snack of some fruit, plain nonfat yogurt, and a drizzle of maple syrup. This was good, and really hit the spot. I don’t know why, but every single night no matter how filling dinner was, or if I’ve had another dessert already, I get the strongest urge to munch my way through the kitchen. This is so frustrating to me because I’ll eat healthily all day and then will just pick at things in the fridge. Mostly it’s fruit that I crave (which is better than candy at least). This is really a habit that I want to break because although it is usually fruit, sometimes I do reach for chocolate chips, or pb straight from the jar, which is NOT something I want or need to be doing. 

Maybe I need to start eating more during the day and then I won’t be so hungry/munchy at night? Any suggestions would be wonderful!

At least tonight I portioned out a bowl of fruit/yogurt rather than just eating strawberries out of the carton! I guess in that regard, this blog is working—I feel guilty if I don’t take pictures of all my food! : )

6 Responses to “Endorphins Make You Happy…”


  1. 1 C Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 7:59 am

    I have never tried one of those kashi bars, I like the regular ones and I am always tempted to try the other varieties but I never have.

    I love yoga, too. It has truly changed my life and speaking of hot yoga, I think my friend has convinced me to try a hot yoga class. I wish my studio offered a warm yoga class, that would be great. Sometimes the air is messed up so it can get pretty hot but never on purpose. I’m very cold natured and to me 85 degrees is just right!

  2. 2 Jenn Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 10:18 am

    I wish I had a tip regarding nighttime munchies – but I must admit that I am definitely one to grab a handful of chocolate chips, spoonful of PB, etc. as well. I really hate it too – hopefully some of your commenters will have some good tips!

    I’ve tried Kashi roll bars, but never the crunchy ones – are they really hard to bite into?

    I still have yet to try a yoga class. I’m thinking I would really enjoy the hot ones because like you, I’m ALWAYS cold. But I’m too nervous that I would make a fool of myself with some of those poses!

  3. 3 totaltransformation Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 11:09 am

    “I had half of this Kashi bar. It was excellent.”

    I think all three kinds of Kashi Crunch bars are excellent. Good for you and great tasting.

  4. 4 totaltransformation Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 11:23 am

    “I wish I had a tip regarding nighttime munchies – but I must admit that I am definitely one to grab a handful of chocolate chips, spoonful of PB, etc. as well. I really hate it too – hopefully some of your commenters will have some good tips!”

    I have a few suggestions Jenn.

    1. Have you tried drinking green tea before bed? Since I have to sip it, it takes forever to drink.

    2. Brush your teeth earlier. Then you will refuse to eat out of sheer laziness- not wanting to brush again.

    3. How about a no-calorie jello or low-calorie pudding snack? I like to make a pudding mix with low-calorie chocolate pudding and protein powder for before bed.

    I hope this helps.

  5. 5 Sarah Wednesday, July 16, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    the kashi bar is good, it’s the same sort of texture as a Luna bar—with the soft/crunchiness and chocolate layer. I like the taste, and they are pretty filling but they don’t compare to Clif bars AT ALL. They do a good job at holding me over but since they’re not all that heavy/dense (like Clif, or even clif minis) I have to wait a while after eating them before I actually feel full.

    thanks for the tips—i’m going to try drinking more tea I think. I’m TOTALLY a coffee person but I know that tea has all sorts of great health benefits so this is a perfect way for me to take advantage of them! Thanks!

  6. 6 totaltransformation Thursday, July 17, 2008 at 10:28 am

    I am glad to be of assistance. 😉


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

