Another Long One

Today was another long day. And I’m not off till Saturday so I still have a long way to go. At least I have the Next Food Network Star to look forward to tonight (if I can stay awake long enough to watch it!)

I was up bright and early this morning to exercise before my long day at work. Learning from my past mistakes of exercising on an empty stomach leading to insatiable hunger all day long, I decided to eat a little pre-workout snack. I had some fiber one with unsweetened almond milk. I like adding this milk to my oatmeal because it gives it a creamy texture and slight chocolatey taste, but I was not a fan of it in cereal. It was a little too watery and made me feel like I was eating my cereal with water. Which is not a good thing.

The pre-workout snack did it’s job though, I had a great workout and haven’t been starving all day.

My real breakfast was the same as yesterday, so to keep you all amused I took an “after mixing” shot today.

As always this breakfast held me over fantastically. Actually, a little too well today. I wasn’t hungry at all when it came time for my lunch break. I had packed a big salad with tuna and a ginormous gala apple but wouldn’t come close to finishing either. I knew that I wouldn’t have another chance to eat for a long time though so I tried to choke down most of the tuna (need my protein!) and had some of the good parts of the salad (leaving most of the lettuce) and about 1/4 of the apple.

I was getting pretty hungry when I got home from work due to my small lunch, but didn’t want to spoil my appetite so I held off. As a result, dinner was amazing. I’m sure it would have been good under normal circumstances, but since I was so hungry, it was beyond delicious. We had chicken lightly browned and cooked down with red wine, tomato paste, onions, garlic, mushrooms, and lots of seasoning. With a side of asparagus, it was perfect.

Even though dinner was good, I was still hungry when I finished eating. I had about 3 bites of the most amazing carrot cake in the world (aka my absolute favorite food on earth) it was for my dad, and I didn’t want to steal it from him entirely or else I would have gladly devoured the whole thing. You can sort of see where I nibbled away at the edge ; )

I knew I needed something real though that would actually do good things for my body so I had another juicy peach. This one wasn’t nearly as sweet as the one last night, but it did its job.

A few hours later, as an incentive to stay awake for next food network star, I had some banana “sorbet”. Really this is just frozen banana blended together with some maple syrup and vanilla. Light and refreshing.

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

5 Responses to “Another Long One”


  1. 1 C Monday, July 14, 2008 at 10:44 am

    That breakfast looks yummy. I’m on a hot cereal kick right now but once I ready for something cold, I will have to try this!

  2. 2 Jenn Monday, July 14, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Mmm that chicken looks great! I love the combination of flavors – I can almost taste it through the computer screen 😉

    That banana sorbet looks so decadent, and yet seems so simple to make! I will have to give it a try sometime – thanks for the tip!!

  3. 3 Leigh Monday, July 14, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    gotta love those wheat berries.

    question about banana sorbet: do you make it ahead of time, or just in single-serving batches? please tell me more, i’m curious and it looks like a great dessert!

  4. 4 Sarah's Mom Monday, July 14, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    To make the banana sorbet you peel and freeze 3 or 4 very ripe bananas (I used 3) overnight or until very firm. Then slice the bananas, add about 1/3 cup maple syrup (I used a sugar free syrup – but real maple syrup would be richer), a teaspoon of vanilla extract (maple extract would be good to for a more maple flavor) and a pinch of salt. Place everything in a food processor and process for about two minutes (it will be very think (I had to scrape the bowl a few times). You can serve right away or place back in the freezer. This makes four servings.


  1. 1 Bookmarks about Edge Trackback on Wednesday, October 15, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

