Easy Does It

I took the easy route with eating today, and didn’t do anything too extravagant. Don’t worry, it was delicious nonetheless.

Breakfast was the usual: banana wheatberry oatmeal. This time made with unsweetened chocolate almond milk as well as skim. This made it extra creamy and gave it a really nice hint of chocolate.
Unfortunately, even with my magical wheatberries, my stomach wouldn’t stop growling all day. Here’s my theory: When I exercise first thing in the morning on an empty stomach (like today) and then eat breakfast, I am always starving the entire day. Even right now, at 10pm after a full day of eating, I still feel like a bottomless pit. If, on the other hand I eat, wait, then exercise, I’m fine. Unfortunately scheduling doesn’t always allow for this. Maybe I’ll try eating something small (aka mini clif bars which were last week’s obsession) and then having a little bit smaller of a breakfast afterward? We’ll see.
After lots of errands, including a trip to the grocery store (the employees are starting to know me there, it’s a little embarrassing. Especially with the people giving out samples. I hope they don’t think that I just come in to get free food, which really is only party true…) Anyway, I was really hungry for lunch and for some reason eggs seemed really appealing (easy and quick!). I had some scrambled eggs with cheese, basil and cilantro flakes, alongside an Ezekial Cinnamon Raisin English muffin. 
This was my first time trying these and OMG are they good! A million times better than silly Thomas EM. The flavor was great, the texture was great, and the raisins were super sweet and chewy. What a perfect, simple lunch.
And then I forgot to photograph the rest of my food. oops, I’m still new at this!
Snack was fruit and yogurt (back to the gala apples though–I need to go to WF and get more of those Jazz babies) 
My tummy was grumbling all during yoga (it was a little embarassing when everyone is quiet and your stomach is yelling) and I was just not in the mood to go home and make an extravagant meal. So instead I made a 2nd trip to the grocery store (quick hello to Barb, the watermelon sample lady) and picked up a salad from the amazing salad bar. Seriously this thing is great, I’d say it’s about 88% as good as the WF ones.
Dessert was my absolute favorite treat, but I’m a little ashamed to admit it. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE rich chocolate cake, fudgey brownies, and moist carrot cake, but save those for special occasions. For just an average night: Dairy Queen Soft Serve Vanilla. I don’t know what it is, but that stuff just tastes so good to me. I’m sure it’s filled with all sorts of artificial crap that I don’t really want in my body but I just can’t contain myself around it. If I’m feeling really adventurous I’ll add on cookie dough pieces, but usually plain is perfect. I know I’m crazy, but it’s an obsession.
2 Responses to “Easy Does It”


  1. 1 Simple and Divine Friday, July 11, 2008 at 3:13 am

    MY OBSESSION? No fancy pants gelato. Ew. I seriously have never liked Gelato. It isn’t cold enough and it’s like melted ice cream which I find gross. Haha. I LOOOOOVE Mcdonald’s soft serve vanilla cones. Simple, ABSOLUTE HEAVEN and about 150 calories according to Women’s Health Mag. Regardless, I wouldn’t give a crap if it were 300, I adore it and enjoy it whenever my tummy tells me to! 🙂 DQ is out of this world though. And truth be told, you eat healthily everyday, as habit, so to treat yourself to your favorite little happy prezzie every once in a while? I think that IS beyond healthy. Really, I think that’s what keeps us young and vibrant! 🙂

  2. 2 Jenn Friday, July 11, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Hurray for unsweetened chocolate almond milk! It’s one of my favorite additions to oatmeal :o)

    That’s so funny that we both had ourselves some soft-serve yesterday! I actually don’t think it’s that bad for you – it’s better than Ben & Jerry’s, that’s for sure!!

    Mmm I love Ezekiel English muffins! I’ve never had the cinnamon raisin kind though – I bet it would taste great with the cinnamon raisin peanut butter!

    Can’t wait to see your lunch today! It made me smile that you thought of me :o)


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

