How Old Am I?

Hi friends! I realize that I’ve been a terrible blogger lately, I guess it’s because I really have nothing going on to update you on. Being back home is boring. I really haven’t been doing much of anything lately, which was relaxing for a while but now I’m getting antsy. Good thing I have a lot of fun trips coming up in the next couple months including: a cruise with Aliza, my Grandma’s birthday party in Ohio, a long trip to New York, and a weekend in Chicago!

I also just signed up for my first 10K Race! I’m running the Father’s Day Race for Prostate Cancer Education, Awareness and Early Detection. I’m really excited about this since it’s my first real race ever. 

Besides running, I’ve also gotten back into taking spinning classes, I’ve been doing some cooking, cleaning, and organizing, and consequently having a bit of an identity crisis. I have no idea how old I am anymore! My friends at school always joked that I was like a grandma because I would go to bed early and wake up at the crack of dawn. Now, I really don’t know how old I am. Some days I feel like a middle-aged housewife: get up, make coffee and breakfast, clean the house, run errands, exercise, get my nails done and chat with the gals at the salon, make dinner, clean up, and go to bed. Then, other days I spend with my grandpa (who is doing a million times better! yay!) at the nursing home, chatting it up with the other 80-something-yr olds, come home to a 5:00 dinner and fall asleep reading a book on the couch. Then, last night I went out with my friends who I’ve been close to since elementary school, stayed up playing video games all night and felt like I was back in high school. It’s confusing!

Anyway, I really have been slacking on the photos but here are a few highlights. I haven’t been using recipes for anything (which is a really big step for me to finally feel really comfortable in the kitchen) but everything has been coming out deliciously!

Sarah’s infamous crack wrap: 

IMG_3557

Holy hell! This is the best thing I have ever tasted. WHY did it take me so long to try it? I think I’ve had this for lunch every single day for the past week and it just keeps getting better and better.

Maple/Brown Sugar glazed salmon with asparagus:

IMG_3560

Sweet and sour tofu with pineapple and brown rice:

IMG_3561

Grilled chicken with sauteed veggies and Israeli couscous:

IMG_3562

Well that’s all I’ve got for now, until next time!

16 Responses to “How Old Am I?”


  1. 1 Bec Monday, May 25, 2009 at 9:07 am

    sounds like you’ve been having a blast trying out different ages!

  2. 2 jenngirl Monday, May 25, 2009 at 9:12 am

    There you are!! Sounds like this time is just a transition for you. Enjoy and try to go with the flow, I think you will find your path soon :)

    Congrats on signing up for a 10k! That’s exciting!

    Delicious eats, I wish I could cook like that!

  3. 3 ksgoodeats Monday, May 25, 2009 at 9:15 am

    YAY CRACK!! Be prepared for an addiction ;) Sweet and sour tofu sounds awesome!

    Did you decide when you’re going to Chicago? You’ll have to let me know!!

  4. 4 glidingcalm Monday, May 25, 2009 at 9:28 am

    haha im a grandma too! no worries!!!

    wow ALL 4 pictures look amazing!!!!!! crack wraps, tofu, salmon, chicken. you are eating well Sarah!!!

  5. 5 Anne K. Monday, May 25, 2009 at 10:08 am

    That crack wrap looks great! I haven’t tried it yet– I really need to change that. Those meals look amazing. Yum!

    Congrats on signing up for your first 10K! I have my first one this weekend :D

    Have a great day!

  6. 6 Amanda Monday, May 25, 2009 at 10:52 am

    your food looks so good!

    i know what you mean about not knowing your age. people call me the same thing. whether it’s true or not, i’m not sure…

  7. 7 Sharon Monday, May 25, 2009 at 11:27 am

    MMmmmmmm, I need to try the crap wrap. LOL

  8. 8 Sarah Monday, May 25, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I’m glad you liked the crack. I just tried to defend it on my guest post over on Kath’s blog. What can I say…its just delicious!

  9. 9 lambayinver Monday, May 25, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    The whole age thing is confusing sometimes… I’m 23 and a stay at home mom, which may not sound that great. But hey, I’m enjoying myself, having a blast with my little peanut, getting up at 5.30 in the morning.

    Hope you find yourself soon. But in the meantime… have fun!

  10. 10 Sarah (from See Sarah Eat) Monday, May 25, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Congrats on signing up for your first race, you will have so much fun! There’s nothing quite like the excitement of a race, that’s when running is really fun :)

    I still need to try the crack wrap!

    Don’t worry, you will find yourself again in no time. Just keep that head up ;-)

  11. 11 Kristie Monday, May 25, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I’m totally with you on the not knowing how old I am thing sometimes too. This age is tough, our identities are flying all over the place!

    I adore crack wraps.

  12. 12 lilveggiepatch Monday, May 25, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    I LOVE Israeli couscous!

    Sounds like your summer is shaping up rather nicely. So many trips! I’m sorry I won’t get to see you when you’re here… oh well. And a CRUISE?! You deserve it, girly!

  13. 13 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Monday, May 25, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Sarah, clearly you are just living life and living day by day!! You don’t need to have some identity for yourself figured out just yet!!

    Aren’t the crack wraps the best?? I loveee dipping mine in salsa!

  14. 14 carolinebee Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I’m soo glad your gramps is doing better!! Just enjoy yourself right now- trust me, the figuring life out process is long and arduous and we are at a prime location in life to try out different things and find what makes us happy :D

  15. 15 gina (fitnessista) Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    congrats on signing up for your first 10k! that’s awesome!
    and i’m so happy to hear your gramps is doing better
    hope you have a great day :D

  16. 16 Michelle Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Hey Sarah! I just saw your comment on K’s blog that you live in Pittsburgh! I do too, and am also registered to run the same 10k on Father’s Day! Small world! Can’t wait to read more of your blog!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

