Happy Mother’s Day!

This is the first time in my life that I’m not home with my Mom for Mother’s Day, it makes me sad! I bet she’s sad too because I’m sure she knows that if I were home I would be cooking and baking up a storm for her. Don’t worry Mom, I’ll make it up to you!

It’s been so weird being done with classes and not really having anything to do. It’s boring! I’m a very goal-oriented person so just sitting around and wasting time makes me really anxious. 

Breakfast

Overnight Oats. While I was cleaning out my cupboards I found just enough oatmeal left for 1 last bowl, and boy was it a good one. I made it the usual way: 1/2 c oats mixed with 1 T flax and a pinch of salt soaked overnight in 1/2c water. Then this morning I added 1/2 c greek yogurt, 1 banana, and cinnamon! So good.

IMG_3512

Snack

After catching up on some blogs I decided to start packing. I still have a lot of time until I leave (1 week!) but I was bored so I got started on what I could. My room looks so sad and lonely with all the pictures and decorations taken down. Packing really made me hungry though so I had my favorite (and last, boooo) WCMN. I better be able to find these at home!

IMG_3513

Then I hit the gym. Campus is pretty much deserted right now except for the seniors so the gym was gloriously empty. I got in a great workout! I’ve been participating in Gina’s Summer Shape Up Challenge and I LOVE IT!!! My workouts had been getting really repetitive and dull so this challenge was the perfect motivation to shake things up. Gina seriously knows what she’s talking about too! After doing the legs workout I could barely walk down stairs of sit down for days! That sort of soreness that comes after a great strength workout is the best feeling ever! Am I right?

Lunch

I came home and promptly made myself some lunch. Salmon pouch pita, carrots, and cottage cheese. These Rachel’s cottage cheese’s are my new obsession. I love them! So far I’ve only tried the sweet flavors but I bet the savory would be good too. I think they have just the right amount of sweetness to them and I like the consistency a lot. Definitely give them a try!

IMG_3514

Snacks

After lunch I took a nice long walk to enjoy the beautiful sunshine. I love when spring finally comes to Boston because people come out of hibernation and everything is so alive and exciting. It’s great! I got home and was hungry again so I munched on an apple, carrots, and a yogurt. I couldn’t seem to get full!

IMG_3518

IMG_3516

IMG_3517

Dinner

For dinner my friends were going to Panera so I obviously jumped onboard. I love it there but there isn’t one that is convenient to get to without a car here so I can’t go very often unless someone is willing to drive me. I got the Asian sesame chicken salad, wheat baguette, and a fruit cup and it was just as good as I remembered. I was a little disappointed that the Strawberry Poppyseed Salad wasn’t back yet though because that’s my favorite!

I don’t really have anything else on the agenda tonight (I’m so bored!) so I think I’ll just catch up on some of the tv that I missed due to crazy work at the end of the semester. I’m like a month behind on 30 Rock! 

See you later!

12 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!”


  1. 1 ksgoodeats Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    The Strawberry Poppyseed Salad is the BEST thing ever! I love it oh so much – can’t wait for it to come back! Have fun having no obligations!! You deserve some R&R!

  2. 2 Yasmin Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Good to know about Rachel’s cottage cheese. I just purchased a few and have packed the Pear Mangosteen for lunch tomorrow. I hope you’re right about the flavor!

  3. 3 jenngirl Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I definitely know what you mean about getting anxious when school’s out…even being home for the past few days have been hard for me. I’ve been spending a bit too much money lately, haha shopping is my only escape from the house! You’ll make it through girl ;)

    Catching up on TV sounds like a GREAT way to spend the night!

  4. 4 gina (fitnessista) Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    whoo hoo! so glad you’re liking the shape up :D i was super sore after legs day, too!
    mmm i seriously love those wcmn bars
    hope you had a great night!

  5. 5 Sarah Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    i’m the same when when i have nothing to do — i completely get anxious and think there are all sorts of things i should be doing instead. i’m not programmed for downtime!

    enjoy your last week! you’ll probably just get comfortable with relaxing on your last day there, haha

  6. 6 carolinebee Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    tots loved your trip down memory lane :D I make my overnight oats the same way lady, ahh so good!! Enjoy your rest and relaxation!

  7. 7 Sharon Sunday, May 10, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    I really want to find those Rachel’s products!

  8. 8 Jessica (jesslikesithot) Monday, May 11, 2009 at 1:40 am

    I’m so sorry that you’re bored with nothing to do!! You deserve some relaxation though- you’ve been working hard!! And almost graduating!! Congrats! :)
    I tried one of the rachel’s cottage cheese flavors and loved it, I definitely want to try that flavor though soon! And that breakfast sounds delicious….I love the addition of yogurt to oats but I haven’t tried it overnight yet!

  9. 9 Sarah Monday, May 11, 2009 at 2:07 am

    It must be a little nice to not have a whole lot going on, especially after the crazy semester you had! I’ve also got some 30 Rock and Office episodes to catch up on…its a good problem to have ;)

  10. 10 Sarah's Mom Monday, May 11, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Sarah, don’t worry, the list of food requests is waiting for you!!

  11. 11 software development services Thursday, July 18, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself
    or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  12. 12 world news guatemala Tuesday, April 1, 2014 at 10:28 am

    These are genuinely fantastic ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some good points here. Any way keep up
    wrinting.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

