Cooking Therapy

When most women are upset they go shopping and find comfort in the form of retail therapy. Me? I relax by spending time in the kitchen. I’ve been cooking up a storm all day long, and I have to admit I do feel a little better!

Breakfast

I woke up this morning and headed straight for the kitchen to make some comforting stovetop oats with skim milk and a banana. This was so warm and creamy and delicious, and accompanied by a strong cup of toffee flavored coffee my day was definitely off to a good start. 

img_31511

After breakfast I exercised, showered, put on the comfiest clothes I have and went straight back to work in the kitchen.

Lunch

I started by making myself one of my favorite lunches: omelette with mushrooms, greens, laughing cow and ketchup and ezekial cinnamon raisin english muffin.

img_3152

Then it was baking time!

I made Tina’s chocolate pumpkin loaf as well as some oatmeal cookie biscotti

Snack

I was tasting as I went, obviously, and knew that both were going to be huge hits. I was craving chocolate and to prevent myself from eating the entire bag of chocolate chips while my goodies were baking, I promised myself that I could have not one, but two slices of the loaf when it was ready. 

I’m glad I didn’t fill up on chocolate chips because this chocolate pumpkin loaf was amazing! It was warm and oozing with chocolatey goodness. Divine!

img_3155

My biscotti are still in the oven but honestly I am stuffed right now so I think I’m going to have to put their taste-testing off until after dinner—and a good dinner it will be too! I’m going to start working on that soon! I have a bad feeling our electricity and water bill is going to be through the roof this month–sorry parents!

17 Responses to “Cooking Therapy”


  1. 1 Bec Monday, March 16, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    the pumpkin loaf looks delicious! Can’t wait to see how the biscotti turns out :)

  2. 2 Sharon Monday, March 16, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Chocolate pumpkin loaf??!?!? YUM!!!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Monday, March 16, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Hell yes for baking therapy!! :-D

  4. 4 Sarah's Mom Monday, March 16, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I have a bad feeling our food bill is also going to be through the roof this month – but well worth it!!

  5. 5 Sarah Monday, March 16, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    I also am a baker for comfort. Oh, and an eater too. Shoot.

    I’ll taste that biscotti if you are too full!

  6. 6 ksgoodeats Monday, March 16, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    I understand your comfort of being in the kitchen!! I always bake when something is wrong!

    BISCOTTI!!! Hope it turns out well :)

  7. 7 jesslikesithot Monday, March 16, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    that mini spoon is so cute! i want it!

    i always want to use the mini spoons when I eat fro yo too, but they never have any….such a shame! haha! and that chocolate pumpkin loaf looks A-MAZZZ-ING!

  8. 8 Jenn (eating bender) Monday, March 16, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I am so happy that you get so much enjoyment out of cooking. Everything looks and sounds amazing. Guess what? Immediately after I got off the phone with you, I decided to make my own scones! Just goes to show that you, my dear, are an inspiration! I hope you are having a great evening so far, Sarah!!

  9. 9 Hil Monday, March 16, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I am all about cooking therapy! My family says that my cooking always tastes the best when I’m in a rotten mood. :-)

  10. 10 Haleigh Monday, March 16, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    I love omelettes for lunch! Speaking of.. I had one today! :) The chocolate pumpkin loaf looks fantastic!

  11. 11 martiniwindow Monday, March 16, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    chocolate pumpkin loaf….omg, I cant even handle it!! I do cleaning-therapy haha, one day it will shift to cooking!!

  12. 13 lilveggiepatch Monday, March 16, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    I’m the same way! Ever since high school, I always turn to the stove when I’m feeling a little off. That pumpkin loaf looks great! Hope you’re enjoying your biscotti and having a nice night.

  13. 14 landoffruitsandnuts Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Sarah, YOU ROCK! I just got my package and omg you’re amazing! Thank you soooo much!! I know all of your readers are 100% jealous of me for sure :-) Now that I know what a great baker you are for sure I know that that bread has to taste as delicious as it looks :-) Glad to hear your Grandpa is doing better & I hope he keeps getting better from here on out. Oh and if you need more baking therapy, you can always send more things my way… haha jk– thank you SO much!

  14. 15 Lizzy Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I can’t wait to see pics of the biscotti’s! the loaf looks delicious! so sorry about everything, i hope each day continues to get better for you, keep your chin up!!

  15. 16 Erin Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Yum! That loaf looks amazing! I’m so glad you did something nourishing for yourself. :) Yay for two pieces!


  1. 1 Vitamin D Overload « eating bender Trackback on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 at 12:57 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

