Holy Metabolism!

I don’t know what it is—but running outside (vs. on the treadmill or any other form of exercise) really revs up my metabolism. Like as in, I’ve been a ravenous bottom-less pit all day long! 

Breakfast

Kashi go lean/bran buds, banana, vanilla almond breeze. You know the drill!

img_3022

 

It was in the upper 50*s here today! I didn’t even know what to do with myself. Well, actually I did know–Go for a run! I was pretty nervous about it because the last time I ran this route it was the worst run of my life and I was miserable the entire time. But with no ice and massive puddles to avoid, warm weather and not being hung-over made it much more enjoyable this time around! I ran a little over 4 miles and then did some lunges and squats since I was feeling super motivated.

Lunch

I had a great lunch today—the other half of my sandwich from heaven, blueberry greek yogurt, and a pear. Then it was off to work for a few hours and to the library for many hours. 

img_3023

img_3024

Snack

I finally found the Honest Foods bars that everyone talks about. It was good! At first it seemed really small but it was actually pretty dense. There was an overwhelming smell and taste of almond extract but not really of almonds…I liked the texture and consistency of this bar so I’ll definitely try other flavors. I also had a dried fig. Random.

img_3025

Secret Cupid!

So due to a little mail-mishap on my part (sorry again Erin!) my package was a little delayed in getting here, but when I got home from the library tonight and opened it up it was well worth the wait! Erin from “Vegan & the City” was the absolute best secret cupid ever! I got so many great gifts: the cutest card, an adorable mug, dark chocolate dreams pb (mmmm—how did you know I was out of this!), some clif bars, chocolate squares, m&ms, chocolate covered espresso, nail polish, conversation hearts, a super-cute makeup bag, and tons of tazo tea. This was beyond anything I expected, and I am so thankful. You’re the best Erin!

img_3028

Obviously I had to do a little sampling!

img_3030

What a great day! Now it’s back to the books!

16 Responses to “Holy Metabolism!”


  1. 1 Bec Friday, February 27, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Glad you have such a great day, good luck with the studying!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Friday, February 27, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    LOOOVELY package from dear Erin!!

  3. 3 jenngirl Friday, February 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Wow NICE secret cupid package!! I’m glad you had a good run today, I can’t wait for the weather to be consistently nice enough for outdoor activities, it’s gunna be great!

    Good luck with studying!

  4. 4 foodsthatfit Friday, February 27, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    What an awesome package! I agree with you that running outside is a lot different than the treadmill!

    Abbie

  5. 5 Sharon Friday, February 27, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    WHOA!!! Super package!!! And love the sandwich!!!!!

  6. 6 Betsy Friday, February 27, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I love how that sandwich is all squished up making the meat look all curvy. And what a great package!

  7. 7 seeleelive Friday, February 27, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    breakfast looks so good, and your right it was nice and warm today!!
    philly was in the 60s or so! So gorgeous but with a breeze, too! stinks its going to snow on sunday!!

  8. 8 seeleelive Friday, February 27, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    and ps-rockin package. glad u got urs finally!

  9. 9 Melissa S. Friday, February 27, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    oh yay for secret cupid, even if it is late! wonderful wonderful!

  10. 10 luckytastebuds Friday, February 27, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Wow I totally want to try that sandwich from heaven!!! It’s like thanksgiving in a sandwich…healthified!!

    I’m totally the same way. My appetite is ridiculous the day after I exercise, but I have still yet to learn how to “run”. :P

  11. 11 Jenn (eating bender) Friday, February 27, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Hello, planner twin! I love that we have the SAME planner (Tar-jay?) and that we both highlight it with multiple colors. We are the bomb :)

    That run sounds awesome – I am totally jealous of your warm weather. You have no idea. It is so cold in my apartment right now!

    That is definitely a FABULOUS Secret Cupid present! Erin rocks! Enjoy it and your weekend, Sarah!!

  12. 12 Sarah Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 1:00 am

    Way to listen to those tummy rumbles. It all evens out, you know?

    Have a good weekend Sista Sarah!

  13. 13 Courtney (The Hungry Yogini) Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 7:35 am

    What a fun day! Delicious eats. I have been a bottomless pit myself lately. Good luck with studying!

  14. 14 lilveggiepatch Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Okay you need to STOP with that sandwich because I don’t even EAT turkey and I want to gobble it up.

    Sweet sexy package! I’m so jealous that everyone has that PB (even though I’ve seen it at the store and could easily buy it myself…).

    Okay, sleep aids- I have crazy dreams when I don’t take them, and when I DO the “dreams” usually start before I fall asleep, which you probably understand if you’ve ever taken Ambien… it gets kind of scary sometimes, actually!

    I’m glad you can finally run outside! It’s so much more fun than running in place… if only this snow and ice would get off my sidewalks!

  15. 15 hopiek Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    ya for new packages!!! glad you enjoyed your outdoor run…there’s nothin’ bettah!

  16. 16 Sarah Saturday, February 28, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    awesome blogger package, and great job on the run! i find running outside uses up much more energy than the treadmill. i can’t wait for warmer weather so it is more enjoyable!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

