Another Long One

Wow guys, today was another long day and it’s not even close to being over! I’m just about to get ready for yet another sorority event which will be longer than usual and then I have a lot of work to start on tonight. Ugh. 

Breakfast

I was up early as usual and started the day with some kashi go lean/fiber one, banana, vanilla almond breeze. So good! 

img_2793

After breakfast I ice skated to my nutritionist appointment. It went really well and I’m feeling really good about the progress I’ve made since I started meeting with her. I always leave those appointments so motivated, it’s great! Afterward I made a quick stop to the grocery store to pick up some new things she recommended I add to my diet (switching from 0-2% fage—yikes!) I’ll let you know if I can tell a difference!

Lunch

One of the things we talked about during my appointment was how to build the perfect salad. I love salads and salad bars but I have a hard time getting in the right nutrients. When I saw the salad bar at the grocery store I knew it was the perfect opportunity to test out my new knowledge. I got a salad with veggies, tuna, beans, goat cheese (something I’ve always been scared of adding in the past, but oh so good!), roasted veggies, croutons, sesame sticks, seeds, fruit, and honey mustard dressing. It was one of the best salads I’ve had in a very long time! I loved all the different flavors and textures. The cheese and seeds really helped with my satiety too. Yum!

img_2794

Snack

I packed some dried edamame and trail mix to snack on during my long afternoon of classes and when I got back to my room I had a kiwi. I’d forgotten how amazing this fruit is and I’m so glad that they were on sale at WF this week because I got to rekindle my love for them.

img_2792

img_2795

Dinner

I had a repeat of the other night with the leftover Kashi pilaf, salmon, spinach, veggies and a dollop of hummus. Very good! 

img_2796

Ok, I have to go make myself pretty. I’ll be back later!

11 Responses to “Another Long One”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I KNOW you’ll get through this week, girl – hang in there!! The weekend is closer than you think :-)

  2. 2 ksgoodeats Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Good luck with your crazy day!! Glad the appointment went well and I think you built a fabulous salad :)

  3. 3 Bec Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    The salad bar option is defiantly me favorite option at my school’s cafeteria. Building salads is not only tasty, but also fun. TGIF tomorrow :)

  4. 4 Helen's Journey Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Your salad looks amazing. I love feta cheese on my salads when I go to the salad bar.

  5. 5 jenngirl Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Good luck tonight!! And I’ll just say that from experience, the 2% Fage is AMAZING!! So much creamier, in my opinion :)

  6. 6 Erin Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I’m so glad your appt went well! I wasn’t sure if you were still going. Have you tried eating the kiwi skin? I love it! Have fun tonight!

  7. 7 Sharon Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    Oh wow, glad everything went well! Hope all goes well with the Fage switch! Personally, I hope Canadians get a taste of these sometime soon! -lol-

  8. 8 eatingbender Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I looove almond milk with cereal! It truly is one of the best combos ever!! In fact, I’m feeling a little snacky so I might go have some right now!

    I’m so glad that you enjoyed your salad and used what you learned from your appointment :) That makes me so happy!

    I hope you’re having a blast right now, girly. You so deserve it!

  9. 9 Olga Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    hahah I feel you on the “ice skating” places! It’s horrid outside.

    You just reminded me that I also have kiwi in the fridge and I love them! I should eat them soon =]

    hope you had a good time at your sorority events!

  10. 10 sarahannmatheny Friday, January 30, 2009 at 2:36 am

    How do you like that dried edamame? You and I have similar palates (hummus, wha? kettle corn, wha? trail mix, wha?) and I’ve never tired it.

  11. 11 sarahannmatheny Friday, January 30, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I’ve never “tried” it either. I’m sleepy, it was a Freudian spil. I mean, slip ;)


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

