Arctic

Happy Friday! I don’t have classes on Fridays this semester and we don’t have school on Monday because of MLK day so I get an extra-long weekend! I just wish it wasn’t so cold outside so that I could enjoy it a little more. Basically all I want to do is stay cozy in my room. But that’s fine with me–I’m getting a lot of reading (school and leisure) done, so that’s always a plus.

Last night my friend brought over homemade Oatmeal Raisin cookies and I couldn’t resist having one–they were delicious and made with whole wheat flour so I can feel a little better about eating them ; )

Breakfast

I got up this morning to a breakfast that I hadn’t had since last semester: overnight oats. I forgot how much I love this breakfast! It is so creamy, yummy, and filling. It’s easy too: soak 1/2 c oats in 1/2 c water and 1 T flax overnight. Then in the morning add cinnamon, banana, and yogurt. Perfection!

img_2673

After breakfast I had to brave the unbearable cold to go to a meeting for work. I work as the Hillel Marketing Intern and while last semester it didn’t take up too much time, the spring is always a lot busier so I’ll be working a lot more. At least I’ll be making some money!

From there I headed to the gym which was a complete madhouse again. There are just so many people there, I hate it! I waited almost 10 minutes for a machine, and finally did the elliptical for 35 min, did some upper-body lifting for about 10, stretched quickly (on the floor—there was no mat space open) and then I was out of there–all the crowds and craziness really stresses me out, blech.

Lunch

I was cold and hungry when I got home so I made a comforting lunch of soup, hummus sandwich, and veggies. The soup was just meh—I usually love this brand and was excited when I saw low sodium options. Unfortunately along with the sodium went a lot of the flavor—I ended up adding some hot sauce to give it a little kick. The sandwich was perfect though—Sabra hummus is the BEST. If you buy any other brand you are just wasting your time!

img_2676

img_2675

Snack

I tried the banana cookie larabar for the first time today and I LOVED IT! The banana flavor was really prominent and it was awesome. Another winner, for sure.

img_2677

 

Dinner

Back to school means back to the frozen dinners for me. Tonight was Lean Cuisine Butternut Squash Ravioli and some crackers. The ravioli was awesome! I am so impressed with this meal, it was so good that I could definitely heat it up, put it on a plate, and serve it to others and they would be thrilled, thinking I made a delicious meal! The ravioli was filling, the squash was flavorful, the sauce was rich and creamy, there were tons of vegetables, and even some crunchy walnuts. I loved it!

img_2678

img_2679

Dessert

My chocolate craving came on hard tonight so I satisfied it with a chocolate rice cake and chocolate covered pretzels. I don’t really have anything fun planned for this weekend, so I’ll probably just read some more, watching some tv online and get lots of sleep!

img_2680

Have a great weekend!

11 Responses to “Arctic”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, January 16, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    LARABAR!!!! Love that flavor, of course :-)

    Stay warm and enjoy the long weekend!!

  2. 2 Olga Friday, January 16, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Argh, I know what you mean! The freezing temperatures are the record low in Brooklyn for the last two years today! SO COLD.

    And that butternut squash ravioli=my favorite Lean Cuisine ever.

  3. 3 carolinebee Friday, January 16, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    i have that in my freezer i’m stoked to find out it’s good!

  4. 4 Nicole Friday, January 16, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I want to try out that ravioli! I couldn’t think of the brand that made it and I couldn’t find it anywhere, thank you for reminding me!

  5. 5 Katie Friday, January 16, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    I really like that dinner… it’s one of my favorite LCs. My gym was SO CROWDED yesterday, too… it makes me so anxious, and I go to the gym to rid myself of anxiety! BAH.

    I’m still trying to decide whether I want to have overnight oats tomorrow or hot oatmeal… tough decisions.

  6. 6 Sharon Friday, January 16, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    Oh my goodness, delicious eats! And chocolate rice cakes? Wow, yum! I’ve only ever tried caramel! Oh, and those crackers look so yummy!

  7. 7 eatingbender Saturday, January 17, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Hurray for overnight oats! I need to make some of those again soon, too! Actually, I think I might go make some right now :)

    So true about the Sabra hummus! I just bought two containers at the store tonight, along with more sweet potatoes and REGULAR cottage cheese, just for you!

    What kind of crackers are those? They look yummy.

    Have a GREAT weekend!

  8. 8 sarahannmatheny Saturday, January 17, 2009 at 2:34 am

    You are SO right about the hummus. I have a barely touched tub of TJ’s mediterannean hummus in my fridge which I’d be all over had Sabra not ruined me for life.

    Love those Mary’s Gone Crackers!

    Have a good weekend, girl!

  9. 9 Melissa S. Saturday, January 17, 2009 at 9:45 am

    yay for the return of your overnight oats! you always make them look so yummy and delightful!

    Oh, i’m glad to hear you liked that ravioli! i’ve been craving some myself lately…

    have a great long weekend!

  10. 10 Beadie Saturday, January 17, 2009 at 11:39 am

    I agree, Sabra is the best! They are actually moving their plant to about 10 minsute from my house. I think it is cool that my fav hummus will now be local hummus as well :)

  11. 11 glidingcalm Saturday, January 17, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    the banana cookie lara is my fav. i think too!

    have a fab weekend!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

