Almost There

Can you believe another weekend is over–they fly by way too fast. This time I’m happy about it though because it just means I’m even closer to going home for Thanksgiving break! Today was just a usual Sunday: gym, library, AOII meeting. Spending all day in the library is seriously draining–I hope to get into bed by 11:00 tonight to get a good night’s sleep since tomorrow I’m going to be running around like crazy.

Breakfast

I was up early this morning and since the gym doesn’t open until 10 on Sundays (and it’s just way too cold to run outside) I lounged around, sipped on some sugar cookie sleigh ride tea which is honestly the best tea I’ve ever tasted. Next time I go to the store I’m loading up on like 100 boxes so that I can drink it all year round! I had one of my favorites for breakfast: overnight oats.

img_2189

Lunch

I got a good workout in, a quick shower, and packed up to hit the library. For lunch I packed a delicious peanut butter sandwich and some baby carrots. These probably weren’t the wisest choice though because I felt like everyone was getting annoyed at hearing me crunch away.

img_2192

Snack

For an afternoon snack I had a chewy chocolate chip pure protein bar. They aren’t kidding when they call these ‘chewy’, I got a headache trying to eat it it was so chewy and hard! These do have a lot of protein in them, they’re a good size, and they do fill me up, but overall I just don’t love them. I just can’t get into the texture of them and they have a weird aftertaste. Also, I really like breaking of teeny tiny bits of my bars and eating them really slowly and you just can’t do that with these. 

img_2191

I had a meeting tonight from 6-8 and needed another snack to tide me over until dinner. I had a pear and a few almonds and it did the trick wonderfully.

img_2193

Dinner

I am running extremely low on groceries but don’t want to go to the store since I’m leaving for break so soon. It was way to cold to go out to get something for dinner so I just made do with stuff I had lying around. I heated up a box of creamy roasted carrot soup and popcorn. For being a strange combo it actually worked really well! I tossed some of the popcorn into the soup and it was like little croutons. This soup is so good, and using the whole box (2 cups) makes for the perfect, filling bowl. With the popcorn, this meal was a volume eater’s dream. I wish I had some salad veggies to round it out a little more though. I do have to say that this was the perfect meal for the cold, windy weather!

img_2194

Dessert

I honestly don’t think I can go a night without dessert! Tonight was some cottage cheese, cinnamon, and a graham cracker. Very delicious. There was also some sneaky un-photographed trail mix. Oops!

img_2195

I’ve had a pretty productive day work-wise but there’s always more to do! I hope everyone had a great weekend! See you tomorrow : )

10 Responses to “Almost There”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Ahh, I know!! Seriously, these weekends last about 5 minutes, haha.

    Mmm can’t go wrong with a warming bowl of soup on a cold day!! :-)

    Enjoy your evening!!

  2. 2 carolinebee Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Fun day! Is it wierd that I really appreciate that you say “tide me over”?? haha sometimes it bothers me when people write, “tie me over”! :D oh grammar..

  3. 3 Sharon Monday, November 24, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Glad you had a great weekend with delicious eats! Mmm, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches!

  4. 4 gina (fitnessista) Monday, November 24, 2008 at 12:55 am

    you’re right, this week has flown by! a good thing, but also a litle unsettling since i have so much end of the semester stuff to do (which i’m sure you do too!)
    ooooh i haven’t tried that carrot soup yet but i love all of the other flavors i’ve had!
    sorry you’re not a huge pure protein fan –you know i adore them– but sometimes they are a little too chewy.
    hope you have a great night!

  5. 5 eatingbender Monday, November 24, 2008 at 1:33 am

    I am also very glad that the end of the weekend is bringing us one step closer to Thanksgiving :)

    I tried my first-ever Pure Protein bar last week! You’re absolutely right – there is no way to break the bar into pieces. I tried and it wasn’t pretty! They are definitely not my faves.

    I LOVE your idea on the carrot ginger soup and POPCORN! What a cool combo, and one that I would never have thought of on my own. You know I’ll be giving that a try sometime because you never steer me wrong!

    Have a super Monday!

  6. 6 ksgoodeats Monday, November 24, 2008 at 9:26 am

    That dessert has my name all over it! Cottage cheese?! Yes please!

    Regarding the pure protein snack: have you tried to chocolate PB one? I love breaking my bars apart and I can do that with that one. Plus, it’s the only one that doesn’t kill my teeth.

  7. 7 Melissa S. Monday, November 24, 2008 at 10:16 am

    yay for short week then t-day!!!! way excited!!!

    glad to hear about those pure protein bars…everyone gave some pretty good reviews but I was skeptical…

  8. 8 Katie Monday, November 24, 2008 at 11:43 am

    mmm yeah I can’t go without dessert either… sometimes I have them for lunch AND dinner.

    I thought the Pure Protein bars were a little too hard as well… I’ve heard about an “oatmeal cookie” kind that you heat up in the microwave; it turns soft like a real cookie! I haven’t seen these yet, but I’m on the lookout…

  9. 9 Erin Monday, November 24, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I’m so glad the trail mix found it’s way into your tummy. :) When will you let me send you some?

  10. 10 Hangry Pants Tuesday, November 25, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I saw that sugar cookie tea, but i got the gingerbread instead. I need to try the sugar cookie now! Have a safe trip to Pittsburg! :D


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

