Time Flies

I can’t believe another week has gone by and it’s the weekend (for me at least!) again! How is it already October? I really better get my butt into study-mode though because midterms are right around the corner!

Breakfast

WAFFLE TOWER!!! Definitely not as good without my thick and creamy greek yogurt, but it was delicious nonetheless. 

Lunch

My wonderful family was nice enough to send me a care package with CINNAMON RAISIN SWIRL PB!!! This is pretty much my favorite thing ever and I couldn’t find it at my grocery store here. I tried holding off and finishing the jar of PB that I already have opened, but today I just couldn’t wait any longer. I had some with a (golden) delicious apple on the side and it was the perfect lunch ever. Oh, how I’ve missed you…

Snack

I had to go straight from yoga into work for a few hours so I packed a Kashi bar for my afternoon snack. Chocolate + Peanut = Yum.

Dinner

I hate being so dependent on frozen meals and canned soups, I much prefer REAL food. So tonight I decided that I haven’t had enough real food lately, so I took the time to make a delicious dinner. This was so easy and came together quickly and tasted phenomenal. I need to cook more! I just wish the kitchen was nicer/cleaner/bigger/etc. etc. etc. 

Anyway, tonight for dinner I made risotto with shrimp and broccoli. So easy. I just combined 1/4 c dry arborio rice, 1.5 c chicken stock and let that simmer for ~15-20 minutes. In the meantime I sautéed up some garlic, shrimp, and broccoli. I combined that with the rice for the last few minutes of the rice cooking and it turned out fabulously. I love arborio rice because it just soaks up all the chicken stock, and gets to creamy and thick. I know it’s not a whole grain, but every once in a while it makes a nice splurge meal. This would have been even better with some parmesan cheese, but unfortunately I didn’t have any. It was such a warm, comforting, tasty meal. Oh, I love food!

This was pretty salty with the chicken broth and all, so right when I finished I needed something sweet to balance it out. I tried a new flavor of Late July Cookie: vanilla bean. I think this was even better than the dark chocolate! It’s delicious—even better than an oreo in my opinion, and much better for you too!

Dessert

A few hours later, while watching the debate I had some dessert.

One of my housemates reminded me of a great dessert idea that I used to do all the time back in High School but have since completely forgotten about: Frozen Yogurt. Like, literally, putting yogurt in the freezer. It’s so simple and SO. GOOD. It makes for sort of an italian ice consistency at first, and then as it melts it becomes more and more like typical frozen yogurt. I’m official re-addicted. I had some frozen berries with it as well.


Now I’m freezing! And also sort of not feeling too well. My throat has been hurting all day and now my nose is started to get stuffed up. NOOOOOOO. Pretty much the entire campus is sick right now, so it was bound to happen, but I just wanted to have an amazing weekend with my mom and really, really, really don’t want to get sick right now. I’m currently sipping some tea and plan to get to bed on the early-ish side so hopefully that will stop this sickness before it really hits.

Have a great rest of the night and FRIDAY is tomorrow!!!!

6 Responses to “Time Flies”


  1. 1 Erin Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    How sweet is your family?

  2. 2 Melissa S. Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    ah, you family was so nice to send you that pb, cause it totally rocks!!!

    and your dinner sounds so good and very homemade!!!

    hope you feel better soon!!! drink lots of tea and get lots of sleep so you can have a good weekend w/ your mommie!!

  3. 3 eatingbender Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Hurray for the weekend!! Friday’s off are THE BEST! And I’m so pumped for you and your mom’s visit – I bet it will be so much fun!

    I looove care packages!! I’m trying to get my family to send me Spooky S’mores!! Good call on the cinnamon raisin PB :)

    Hehe, I love food too! That dinner sounds fantastic – I’m glad you were able to make yourself something tonight!

    I’ve never tried literal “frozen yogurt” – but if you say it’s good, I will have to try it sometime!

    You know, I think we must channel the same wavelength, Sarah – my roommate and I are both getting sick with the same symptoms as you! I really hope that it goes away tonight so that you can enjoy your relaxing weekend!!

  4. 4 fitnessista Friday, October 3, 2008 at 12:04 am

    YES it’s the weekend! i need to kick my booty into study gear too.. my first midterm is on tuesday! yikes!
    that risotto looks amazing!!!
    hope you have a great night!
    have fun with your madre this weekend!

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Friday, October 3, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Waffle Tower + Cinnamon-raisin PB + risotto = YUM!!

    SO lovely about the care package – hooray!!

    I’m not feeling 100% either :-( Hope you feel better a.s.a.p., Sarah!!!!

  6. 6 wholefoodswholeme Friday, October 3, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    the cinnamon raisin PB looks so, so good. i’ve never seen it in the UK. the risotto also looks like my kind of thing!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

