Poor Planning

Today was just full of poor planning and disappointments on the food-front.

Pre-Workout Snack

Before my cardio this morning I decided to try a new product-the Kashi Blackberry Graham bar. The flavor and texture were great and I really enjoyed it. It is a lot like a Nutrigrain bar but not as sweet and much healthier tasting. Satiety-wise I was a little disappointed. First of all, it was gone in about 3 bites, and did not fill me up or keep me full. There is very little protein or fiber in this which explains it. For only 110 calories I shouldn’t have expected more, but I was really surprised when my stomach started grumbling while I was exercising! I don’t know if I would buy these again because although they taste good, I just need something a little more substantial. 

Breakfast

At least breakfast was a success! I made some more wheatberries so I had them with Fage, pear, and flax. So good, as always.

Snack

Here’s where my poor planning came into play. I somehow got really behind schedule this morning and was in a hurry to get to work. As a result I just grabbed something fast that I knew would hold me over through an 8-hr shift. I had yogurt and Kashi Go Lean which was yummy and satisfying, but it was the second yogurt of the day! I usually try to be more balanced, but it definitely could have been worse. This flavor yogurt (banana cream) is so good! I try to stay away from the artificially sweetened yogurts, but it was the only single-servings we had and every once in a while it’s a nice treat. It definitely made studying GRE analogies better!

Dinner

Dinner looked a lot better than it tasted. We had honey-mint lamb chops which were good but you couldn’t really taste the honey or the mint and there was very little meat on the bone. On the side was kasha (buckwheat) with veggies. This was horrible. It just had a really funky taste and texture. My dad described it as “metallic.” I don’t know if I would say that, but it really was horrible. I ended up not eating any of it. The cauliflower was great though! We found yellow cauliflower at the grocery store which was fun, and roasted it with garlic. Very good!

I’m off to relax, and get ready for the season finale of Next Food Network Star! I will definitely be back for dessert. I’m going to need it tonight!

3 Responses to “Poor Planning”


  1. 1 Jenn Monday, July 28, 2008 at 7:26 am

    Are you serious, Sarah?! I bought that SAME Kashi bar this weekend and am planning to try it out today! I’m telling you, it’s just insane how alike we are!

    Hurray for wheatberries! Now I just need to remember to soak them again overnight. They look like they’d be good with Fage, and I bought some over the weekend so I need to try out that combo soon!

    I’m sorry the kasha didn’t work out. The yellow cauliflower looks really cool, though!

  2. 2 C Monday, July 28, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Sorry about the Kasha, sometimes those grains need to be rinsed really well before cooking. I had the same problem with quiona and rinsing it solved the problem.

  3. 3 blueberryhil Monday, July 28, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Kasha can be tricky to prepare well, and it tastes gross when it’s stale. If it tastes “off” then you may have had a slightly stale or rancid batch. If it just tasted like cardboard, then it may be a matter of finding the right preparation. I absolutely love it cooked in beef broth and finished with a drizzle of sesame oil. That is delicious. Other preparations that I’ve tried haven’t worked out as well!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

