Oh Saturdays

Why is it that Saturdays always go by so much faster than any other day of the week? It seems like the day just flies by and is over before you know it. Too bad Monday’s don’t have this magical power too.

Breakfast

When I woke up from my sugar-induced coma this morning, I was definitely not feeling my best. I had a slight headache, but most of my problems came in the form of a food hangover. I was still stuffed, bloated, a little nauseous, and very irritable. The very thought of food repelled me. This is not a good state for me to be in because I love food too much to be turned off by it. I couldn’t even watch the food network this morning as is my usual Saturday morning tradition. Instead I focused on this feeling so that next time I am tempted to binge on cookies, brownies, and cakes I’ll remember how terrible I feel the next day and will stick to a normal, controlled portion. That is one of the biggest things I am trying to work on. In situations like last night I try to deprive myself of dessert and end up only having a taste, a sliver, or the crumbs. Well, this turns into more crumbs and corners, edges of cookies, and slivers of cake. In the end I eat way more than I would have if I just took a normal portion and savored it. I also don’t even get to enjoy it as much because I’m throwing tiny bites and crumbs into my mouth instead of an actual bite. Ugh, this is the last time. Please hold me accountable! : )

Anyway, this morning I chugged a bunch of water and a few hours after I woke up I was finally ready to eat something. I made a simple breakfast sandwich on a ww english muffin with eggbeaters and basil. It was nothing special but it made me feel better after I ate it.

Lunch

Needless to say I got in a good sweaty workout today and finally felt back to my old self. For lunch I toasted up a turkey and cheese quesadilla and had a gala apple on the side. I miss my Jazz apples—these just aren’t as sweet.

Snack

I knew that we were going out for a late dinner tonight (8:30) so I had a little snack to hold me over. I learned my lesson about letting myself get too hungry and didn’t want that to happen again! I had a light refreshing bowl of cherries, mango, and some new trail mix we found at the grocery store-it has crystallized ginger in it-yum!

Dinner

For dinner we tried out a new Indian restaurant Tamarind I seriously love Indian food and this place did not disappoint! It was a small restaurant but very authentic. The prices were reasonable, the portions big, and the taste delicious! 

We ordered a bunch of things for us all to split and I of course tried a little of everything. We got the bread basket and I chose the Garlic Naan (so good!), Channa Masala (chickpeas with spices), Mattar Paneer (homemade cheese and sweet peas in curry sauce), Bendi Masala (okra in onion and tomato gravy) and Tikka Kebob (chicken charbroiled in Tandoor oven). Everything was really spicy and flavorful, and very delicious! The chicken was a tad dry, but at least we know that it was cooked without oil and butter, which is always a good thing! It was such a great meal and I would definitely go back again!

Now I’m off to go soak some wheatberries before I forget! And it’s back to work tomorrow, but we have a good dinner planned so at least I have something to look forward to!

5 Responses to “Oh Saturdays”


  1. 1 ~C~ Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 8:52 am

    All of that food looks so good! I am glad you are feeling better!

  2. 2 Danielle Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Busy Saturday but oh, what yummy food to supplement it with. So happy you’re feeling better and were able to enjoy it!

  3. 3 Leigh Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 10:26 am

    that quesadilla looks perfect.

  4. 4 fitnessista Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    food hangovers are the worst!! going to the gym always makes me feel better too :)

    your indian food looks like it was incredible- i usually get some kind of chicken, but next time i’ll have to try the chickpea one :D

    glad you’re feeling better! have a happy sunday!

  5. 5 Jenn Sunday, July 27, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Too true about Saturdays, Sarah! I can’t believe how fast they go by – it’s insane!

    I’m sorry about your food hangover. I’ve had one too many of those in my lifetime, for sure. Let’s keep each other accountable and inform each other next time we have plans to go out. That way, we can give each other a pep talk – INDULGE, but don’t OVERINDULGE!

    That trail mix sounds delicious! What brand is it?

    Ahhh I LOVE naan bread! So jealous that you had the real deal last night! I haven’t had too much Indian food but it always sounds so delicious and I know there’s a wonderful Indian neighborhood near Chicago, so you’ve given me some motivation to check it out!

    I hope you have a good Sunday – although work = blech!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

