Work and Play

Today was great. Work went by quickly and then I got to have fun by partaking in my favorite activity: grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods! 

I started my day off as usual with a pre-workout snack of Kashi Go Lean and Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze. 

I haven’t had my yogurt breakfast for a while, so it was very enjoyable to return to my fage, pear, fiber one, and flax combo. The pear was extra sweet and extra big today so this really hit the spot and filled me up for a long time.

I was working a strange shift today and knew that I wasn’t going to be hungry when my break came so I just packed something small. I had some Ezekial Sesame with Laughing Cow Cheese and Rainier Cherries. 

While at TJs and WF we picked up the ingredients for dinner tonight which was FABULOUS. My best friend Aliza is in Thailand this summer and she was the inspiration for our dinner: Shrimp Pad Thai. I adore pad thai and love ordering it but have always been really intimidated to make it myself. This turned out amazingly though, and I’m sure it’s a lot healthier than what you get when you go out to eat.

Basically you cook up rice noodles (we found BROWN RICE noodles at WF!!!) Then you stir fry shrimp with garlic, red pepper flakes, add in eggs (we used eggbeaters), asian fish sauce, sugar, lime juice, and stir in peanuts, cilantro, green onions, and sprouts. OMG was this good! The cilantro and lime kept it tasting really fresh, the red pepper gave it some heat, the peanuts gave a great crunch, and the fish sauce added that special something.  

I couldn’t believe how great this tasted how easy it was to make! Now don’t get me wrong—this isn’t quite the same as the pad thai from Thai Basil in Boston, but it’s quick, easy, and healthy, and perfect for a summer meal!

Edited to add:

For dessert I had a simple bowl of warmed berries, reddi-whip and a few dulce de leche meringues from WF. I love meringues because it only takes a few of them to really satisfy my sweet tooth. I picked these up today along with some teeny-tiny ones from TJ (only 1 calorie each) that I’m also really excited to try. 

5 Responses to “Work and Play”


  1. 1 Julz Saturday, July 19, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Beautiful dinner, Sar! You should DEF post this recipe for all of us :) Pad Thai is absolutely TO DIE FOR and it would be so wonderful to have a healthified version to share with my family!! :) Enjoy your weekend Loverdove!

  2. 2 Jenn Saturday, July 19, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Wow, that dinner looks so good – I LOVE Pad Thai! Thanks for the tip on the brown rice noodles at WF – I will definitely be checking those out!

    I totally agree with you on the bowls/plates and making food look pretty. It makes the whole process so much more enjoyable because food is no longer just fuel – it’s like an art form or something, hehe. I’m actually planning on taking a photojournalism class next year at school because we get to rent out these fancy schmancy cameras – and guess what my final project is going to involve?!?

    Can’t wait to see what you think of the goodies from TJ’s!

  3. 3 Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Saturday, July 19, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    What a yummy dessert!

    Jenn, that is so cool that you are going to take a photojournalism class!

  4. 4 ~C~ Sunday, July 20, 2008 at 8:39 am

    That dinner looks so awesome! I love thai inspired food!

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Sunday, July 20, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Cherries!!! My daily indulgence :0D


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

